Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a *very* easy way to make a meat dish with a beautiful presentation! It's a good recipe, but there was some zip missing. Perhaps I just needed to season the cornish hen skins with a bit of garlic powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good, it had a nice flavor and texture. The only thing I would change is adding a bit more celery than what was called for because as is the stuffing is a nice accent but light fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I don't have the best luck with game hens but these turned out amazing! So tender and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. My daughter loved it. My modifications: I cut up more veggies, so they spilled out of the cavity. I basted it every 15 or 20 minutes. It came out so tender. Not dry at all. Delicious. And this was my first time ever making cornish hens! Thanks a million for this recipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Prepared this as Thanksgiving for Two. I also made extra stuffing since I had wheat allergen Vegans coming to visit (used olive oil instead of butter). I'd never roasted any kind of whole bird before trying this recipe. Roasted them breast side down in one of those plastic oven bags, and they came out VERY moist! Maybe a little too moist though, next time (if there is one... Cornish Hens are kinda expensive) I'll take them out of the bag toward the end to crisp up the skin - which was actually soggy, gross, and thrown away... but that was my fault, for not following the directions. Aside from my skin mistake, the flavors and meat were hit the spot delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I was a little skeptical at first becuase I don't usually have good luck with cornish game hens, but this recipe was great, even my husband who is very picky loved it. The chicken was moist and had a great flavor. I will definately do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this one I will make again followed the recipe and it was very special for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
the stuffing is awesome! i will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Just tried the recipe and did not change a thing. The hens turned out fantastic and having the veggies inside made a complete meal. I added a salad and beverage and dinner was great. Very easy to prepare and baking time was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
They were okay. I think we'll stick to other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States