Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, I followed this recipe exactly except that I left the hens in the oven for 2 hours instead of 1 and a half. They were still raw in the middle after I had already made the side dishes. So i ended up eating side dishes and cooking the hens for another hour and 15 minutes and it was good, but why the hell did it take so long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Stuffing needed salt. I stuffed 3 birds, so increased the stuffing recipe to accomodate. Had some left over, so sauteed it, and made a delicious gravy. Gave the birds about 5 min. under the broiler after bake time, and got a delicious golden brown. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
It think this would have been perfect if the onions would have been sauteed a bit before being mixed in. It just had a bit of a raw flavor. i also added bread crumbs to the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a *very* easy way to make a meat dish with a beautiful presentation! It's a good recipe, but there was some zip missing. Perhaps I just needed to season the cornish hen skins with a bit of garlic powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was good, it had a nice flavor and texture. The only thing I would change is adding a bit more celery than what was called for because as is the stuffing is a nice accent but light fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I don't have the best luck with game hens but these turned out amazing! So tender and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. My daughter loved it. My modifications: I cut up more veggies, so they spilled out of the cavity. I basted it every 15 or 20 minutes. It came out so tender. Not dry at all. Delicious. And this was my first time ever making cornish hens! Thanks a million for this recipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Prepared this as Thanksgiving for Two. I also made extra stuffing since I had wheat allergen Vegans coming to visit (used olive oil instead of butter). I'd never roasted any kind of whole bird before trying this recipe. Roasted them breast side down in one of those plastic oven bags, and they came out VERY moist! Maybe a little too moist though, next time (if there is one... Cornish Hens are kinda expensive) I'll take them out of the bag toward the end to crisp up the skin - which was actually soggy, gross, and thrown away... but that was my fault, for not following the directions. Aside from my skin mistake, the flavors and meat were hit the spot delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I was a little skeptical at first becuase I don't usually have good luck with cornish game hens, but this recipe was great, even my husband who is very picky loved it. The chicken was moist and had a great flavor. I will definately do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this one I will make again followed the recipe and it was very special for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States