Baked Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
No need to use up space on the outdoor grill anymore! So easy to do, and such a tasty result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was a Big hit at my last dinner party. Like so many Others I left the corn in the husk. I Let mine soak in the Brine for about 7 hours refrigerated. Served with "Indian" lamb stuffed onions and spicy egg plant. I didn't tell anyone how I made the the corn. Yet everyone's first bite was followed by Mmmmmmmmm how'd you make this? Definite Keeper !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I had partially husked corn, so I soaked them and wrapped them in foil before grilling. I can honestly say, I'm not sure I've ever had better corn on the cob in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkie_the_kid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Make sure and leave the CORN IN THE HUSK when you brine it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Canipelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I tried this as is, and was not impressed. I don't know if the brine did anything or not. Next time I will try some in the brine and some cooked without to see if the natural sweetness of the corn is improved or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This recipe caught my eye. I’m used to making corn on the grill, and an oven recipe, especially one that cooked the corn for an hour, was intriguing. We started with fresh, Wisconsin sweet corn. Leaving the husks on, we followed the directions exactly and the corn turned out sweet, tender and delicious. It’s something I never would have thought of doing and is something I will definitely do again. It’s absolutely a wonderful and different way to enjoy sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Whether you use this method because it’s an easy, no-fuss method of roasting corn or because you want to free up space on your grill or stove-top, you won’t end up with a more perfect ear of corn cooked any other way. The recipe doesn’t indicate this, but since you’re directed to bake the corn for an hour, and since corn is generally soaked in its husks, I assumed the husks were meant to be left on. Two ears fit perfectly in a 2-quart beverage pitcher. This corn was, in a word, simply excellent - sweet, juicy, delightfully “seasoned” because of the salt/sugar brine. Time and temperature were both spot on. Hubs and I couldn’t stop commenting all through dinner on how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I had to try this recipe because of the cooking method! Since I had the oven on already anyway and since I had one cob of corn, I figured I'd give it a whirl. I halved the ingredients and left it to brine for about two hours before placing it in the oven. I am sorry not to have taken a photo of the cob before cutting it away! It was a little dried-out looking, like corn gets when you leave it on the counter too long after taking it from boiling water. The taste was good and didn't need to have any extra seasoning. I probably won't make it again this way, but I'm anxious to have someone else make it and see if it was just something I did wrong. I really wanted to like this! EDIT: Talking to the author of this recipe on the Buzz, I discovered that the directions to his recipe were supposed to inform us to LEAVE THE HUSKS ON! I'm so glad to see that Naples did that, and so now I really need to try this again so I can change my rating! EDIT AGAIN! I felt the need to try this method again! And I did another photo, too! We did like this method, and the corn was good and it was sweet---not quite like back in the old days when my dad raised his own corn and you could taste the natural sugar crystals in the corn. This does in a pinch. I still like when I put my corn in boiling water for just a very few minutes--just enough to warm it up. That's how I like mine! Thanks, Ed. I am done with corn for this season now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States