Baked Corn II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I omitted the sugar and added one small can of diced green chiles. This was a wonderful way to come up with a tasty side dish using ingredients I had on hand. This is one recipe I could see myself making again and again, in a number of different versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I have to agree with sunnnij, this recipe really highlights the flavor of the corn. There seem to be three categories of this type of recipe: cakey, custardy, or soufflé-like, and varying degress of sweetness. This results in more of a custard, with the perfect balance of sweetness to my taste. Of course, I realize that that is a strictly personal preference, and preferences vary. I used to use a recipe that my Mom gave me which is quite similar, but had less corn, more milk, and twice the sugar, flour and eggs. Since I prefer canned corn, to preserve the exact proportion of corn as specified in the recipe, I used kitchen scales to weigh out 16 oz of canned Niblets corn from two 11 oz cans, which left 3.5 oz of corn leftover from the second can... I expect just using the two 11 oz cans would work fine. The texture was more custard like, which I really liked. To prevent excessive clumps that other reviewers mentioned, I put the flour and sugar into the mixing bowl, then added the 3/4 cup of cold milk and whisked vigorously, then added the egg and whisked again. (Never try to add flour to any liquid that is not really cold, as the flour will immediately create lumps that will be impossible to eliminate without a sieve). Then I nuked it for 20 seconds or so to warm it to about room temperature before adding the melted butter and corn. Baked as specified and it came out perfect. This is *definitely* replacing the recipe my Mom gave me (sorry, Mom!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving - I was looking for a corn side dish that wasn't completely loaded with sugar or cheese and this was perfect - and easy! I used evaporated milk because I drink 2% and was afraid that would create the problem with setting that others had. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
yummy!!! Tried this tonight and the whole family loved it, even my 2 yr old. I added a little cooked onion and added cracker topping before I baked it and it turned out great. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I made this in my small slow cooker, and it was very tasty, but, the milk/egg mixture did not set and there were little white lumps theoughout. I do not recommend slow-cooking this one at all. oven is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This corn recipe is very good! I have young children and they all wanted it.... now that was odd...ha. I don't know how healthy it is with everything you put into it but it was nice treat. I have made it 2x's this week already... I am taking it to a BBQ to get a real review of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Good, but I would cut the butter in half; it was way to buttery for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I will give this a 5 b/c it was sooo easy to prepare. The only problem I had was the little chunks of flour that were scattered throughout the finished product. Next time, I may sift the flour to make sure there are no clumps. I also think that an hour may be to long to cook. I will shorten the amount of time on my next batch. Overall, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I've made this recipe a few times and it always goes over well. It also still tastes good as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States