Baked Corn II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Excellent. Everyone loved it and I wouldn't make any changes to it.Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLEGHOST

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I was very pleased to have a new recipe to try for Thanksgiving this year.It was a big hit with my guests, however it was not what I expected. I was hoping for more of the eggy part,I think. I will make some adjustments before trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very little flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This recipe got all of my families thumbs up including my one year old son!!! GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
My friend Gail made this and it was excellent. If you're a southerner, you'll love it. I've always used cream, but after trying this recipe, I don't think it's necessary to add the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I prepared this as a potaot substitue for a dinner party, and it got rave reviews. I just emailed the recipe to one of the guests. I used canned corn and it worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
i actually made this around the pork chops i was baking, so i cut down on the milk a bit, and it came out just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Great dish!!! The whole family enjoyed it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I omitted the sugar and added one small can of diced green chiles. This was a wonderful way to come up with a tasty side dish using ingredients I had on hand. This is one recipe I could see myself making again and again, in a number of different versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I have to agree with sunnnij, this recipe really highlights the flavor of the corn. There seem to be three categories of this type of recipe: cakey, custardy, or soufflé-like, and varying degress of sweetness. This results in more of a custard, with the perfect balance of sweetness to my taste. Of course, I realize that that is a strictly personal preference, and preferences vary. I used to use a recipe that my Mom gave me which is quite similar, but had less corn, more milk, and twice the sugar, flour and eggs. Since I prefer canned corn, to preserve the exact proportion of corn as specified in the recipe, I used kitchen scales to weigh out 16 oz of canned Niblets corn from two 11 oz cans, which left 3.5 oz of corn leftover from the second can... I expect just using the two 11 oz cans would work fine. The texture was more custard like, which I really liked. To prevent excessive clumps that other reviewers mentioned, I put the flour and sugar into the mixing bowl, then added the 3/4 cup of cold milk and whisked vigorously, then added the egg and whisked again. (Never try to add flour to any liquid that is not really cold, as the flour will immediately create lumps that will be impossible to eliminate without a sieve). Then I nuked it for 20 seconds or so to warm it to about room temperature before adding the melted butter and corn. Baked as specified and it came out perfect. This is *definitely* replacing the recipe my Mom gave me (sorry, Mom!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States