Baked Corn I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I've made this twice, once with a cup of butter and once with a 1/2 cup. I prefer the 1/2 cup, but it turns out more like a plain old cornbread with corn in it. With a whole cup it just reeks of butter to me. Overall I thought it was decent, and a large gathering of family at Thanksgiving most all seemed to give it positive reviews. So if you like it keep it, but don't expect everyone to go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This recipe was fantastic. Much better then the dry cornbread I normally bake.Definatley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This is more of a corn bread recipe rather than a corn bake. Use it if you want a switch on regular corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe is Wonderful! I made it for our company picnic, and was gone in 30 minutes! I had to make copies for 6 people! Great Recipe and will make many times again I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA7P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This was the recipe I was looking for...just like Grandma makes. I did cut down on the butter a bit though. Also, since it's just the three of us I use half the batter to bake up in a casserole for dinner. The other half I bake in muffin tins. They freeze nicely and microwave in just a minute or 2 for a quick lunch side for my 2 year old. He loves them, and it's just so easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Excellent! So easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I had decided at the last minute to find a recipe that resembled "Mexican corn pudding" served at one of our favorite restaurants and thought this sounded close enough (not corn bread to be eaten with fingers). My adjustments were to reduce butter to 1/4 cup, add 1/4 cup white sugar, and reduce the sour cream to 1/3 cup (because that's all I had on hand!) I baked in a 8x8 pan for 45 min and it turned out just like I expected. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I served this dish at a catered two person birthday party. I also serves shrimp kabobs and fondue and had poached pears with gorganzola for dessert. This dish is what they raved about. This recipe moved from temp to perm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Hard to rate this one-- It was good the first day, because I'd been looking forward to it after all the great reviews. But when I thought about eating it the next day, I just felt kind of ill-- it's so heavy, and the egginess of it makes me vastly prefer a moist cornbread. Maybe because I used nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I had watched a food program on tv that talked about spoonbread being served in a restaurant in Harlem and wanted to try it. Did a search on this site and found this recipe. Didn't know what to expect but it was very good. I also used 1/2 cup of butter as recommended by some. The only disappointment was that I expected it to be sweeter. The next time, I will try a sweeter cornbread mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States