Baked Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I've made this corn casserole twice, for Christmas and for Memorial Day. It paired well with the prime rib on Christmas and it went great with The BBQ Ribs on Memorial Day. I'm not a measurer, I look at the ingredients and just put it together and, knock on wood they have turned out pretty good. I used 1 16oz bag of frozen whole kernal corn and 1 can of cream style corn and 1 8oz pkg of cream chez along with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Too much cream cheese and shouldn't have used butter - way too oily and had to siphon some and put crushed crackers in to soak up the rest. I increased the recipe to 16 servings. I would only used 1 pkg. cream cheese and no butter, but would saute onions in a little oil. Then for that amount of servings we used 3 cans corn and I would use only 1 can cream corn. We loved the green chili peppers in it. We'll go back to the recipe with corn muffin mix next time but add the chili peppers. NO French Fried onions. There's enough onions in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I am always reluctant to make an internet recipe for the first time for purposes of sharing it with a bunch of other people. I didn't have time for a trial run though, and this recipe was everything the reviews promised it would be. I didn't omit anything, but I did make a few additions/alterations: I used red onion, and I sauteed it in olive oil with garlic and 1/2 of a red bell pepper (all chopped up) for just a little bit. I did add quite a lot of garlic, maybe like 3 tablespoons. I decreased the amounts of butter and cream cheese (I did use neufchatel) and added roughly 3 ounces light sour cream. The green chilies I used were fire roasted. I couldn't find the smaller-size cans of corn, so both the cream style and the regular corn were the 15 ounce size- with the regular corn being white and yellow together. Perhaps having more corn in it helps it to not be soupy. This was a HUGE hit at my church's thanksgiving dinner, and I am really looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this to take to the Ronald McDonald house tonight for dinner (my class at church does this once a month) and it was devoured!! I doubled the recipe (except for the butter and chilies) and it was yummy! Thanks so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is very tasty, and I did give it five stars, but it's definitely better as a side dish, or even a dip. It's very creamy. Because it was a casserole, I guess I figured it would be good as a main dish, but it's a tad sweet to have too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Yummy! Every single person at Thanksgiving liked this. Definitely not healthy but a delicious treat for sure. Even better the next day (not that you'll have many leftovers!) I left out the chilies and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I've always skipped the peppers and added some shredded cheddar cheese and a dash of onion salt, ceelery salt, and garlic salt. Always a hit at holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a potluck for Thanksgiving. I think I may have done something wrong as it didn't turn out as well as I thought it should have. Maybe I'm not a cream cheese type of guy. Also not a great cook (lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I'd say this is a take it or leave it kinda dish...not bad but I didn't think it was excellent! I didn't do the onion rings on top since I took it for work and they would've been soggy by then, but I don't feel they would've added a whole lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
What a treat! Being a little conscious of calories i used reduced fat cream cheese and a little less of the butter. Somehow I managed to pick up a can of jalapeños instead of green chili peppers and WOW! What a jazzy spicy little side this turned out to be! So yummy! Ill make it again and try the green chili's but if its Mexican night ill keep the jalapeños! Its a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States