Baked Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
So good and so easy. Few changes using what I had on hand. Used plain bread crumbs, added 1/2 tsp dry mustard and 1/2 tsp McCormick Shilling Mediterranean salt mixture, 1/2 tsp olive oil, blended and sprinkled on top the fish that was covered with ranch dressing, patted down and baked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
C’mon Taste of Home Test Kitchen, couldn’t you have come up with a catchier, more inspired name for this fish than “Baked Cod?” This fish was so delicious, and calling it something more interesting might just get it the attention it deserves. A couple of simple ingredients and a fuss-free cooking method combined to make this a recipe I’ll surely return to. I did adapt it a bit to suit my preferences – I used mayonnaise instead of the ranch dressing (I don’t even use the stuff) to which I added some fresh minced garlic. I gave the fish a sprinkle of salt and pepper before I coated it with the mayonnaise mixture. Rather than spritzing the coated filets with “refrigerated butter-flavored spray” (ewww) I spritzed them with olive oil. I didn’t want soggy bottoms on the fish so I set them on a rack on a baking sheet. The herb seasoned croutons (great crushed in meatloaf too, by the way) lent great flavor and the mayo kept the fish good and moist. When it was done the fish wasn’t as nicely golden brown as I would have liked but a quick finish under the broiler took care of that. I served this with “Olive and Red Pepper Linguine” and “Parmesan Tomatoes,” recipes also from this site. The meal was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This recipe was not good. I have a million other cod recipes but wanted to try something new. The ranch dressing and flavored croutons do NOT go well together--I would use mayo or egg white or something else instead. Also, mine needed to cook longer than 20 minutes, which threw off the rest of the dinner. No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have seasoned stuffing croutons so I used 1 c panko with a little salt and pepper and 1/2 T dried parsley. For the ranch dressing I used the ranch seasoning from BEC on this site with 1/4 c milk ( buttermilk was old) and 1/4 c and 1 T of reduced fat mayo to get a dressing consistency. What was odd was that after the fish was baked it tasted like stuffing even though I didn't have stuffing croutons. Maybe it was the thyme in the ranch I don't know. All in all it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I do not eat seafood of any kind and my husband loves fish. It's hard for me to cook for him because I can't (wont) taste the seafood to see if it's good. I made this recipe for him and he really enjoyed it. Next time, I will use less ranch or just not coat the bottom of the fish. It was soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Quick, easy and melt in your mouth good !! I wanted to try fish main dish instead of chicken and I wasn't disappointed. I did change afew things ( used what I had around the house ). I mixed italian bread crumbs and a generic seafood seasoning as the breading. I found it easy to apply the dressing with a spatula ( lightly ). I was suprised how it melted in my mouth and that the ranch wasn't overpowering. I will be making this again, soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My family and I love this recipe for Cod. I use whatever Ranch dressing I have around...most of the time peppercorn ranch and italian bread crumbs. That's it! No butter spray. It's delicious. This is the only recipe I use when making cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I couldn't disagree more with the previous reviewer - I thought the flavors went together really well. I used garlic and herb croutons (crushed up quite finely) and full-fat Ranch as that's what I had on hand. Very quick, easy and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The first time I made this I was not impressed. We thought the delicate flavored cod was overpowered by the ranch dressing. The second time I made this I used mayo thinned out with a little squeeze of fresh lemon. I also used panko breadcrumbs instead of the crushed croutons and a little salt and lemon peel with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Excellent. I tried this recipe out on 2 of my brothers, they both liked it alot. I really didnt make any 'real' changes. I used flavored croutons instead of stuffing, and I melted butter and drizzled it over the top of the crumbs (I didnt have the spray). Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States