Baked Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This recipe was not good. I have a million other cod recipes but wanted to try something new. The ranch dressing and flavored croutons do NOT go well together--I would use mayo or egg white or something else instead. Also, mine needed to cook longer than 20 minutes, which threw off the rest of the dinner. No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I couldn't disagree more with the previous reviewer - I thought the flavors went together really well. I used garlic and herb croutons (crushed up quite finely) and full-fat Ranch as that's what I had on hand. Very quick, easy and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I do not eat seafood of any kind and my husband loves fish. It's hard for me to cook for him because I can't (wont) taste the seafood to see if it's good. I made this recipe for him and he really enjoyed it. Next time, I will use less ranch or just not coat the bottom of the fish. It was soggy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
So good and so easy. Few changes using what I had on hand. Used plain bread crumbs, added 1/2 tsp dry mustard and 1/2 tsp McCormick Shilling Mediterranean salt mixture, 1/2 tsp olive oil, blended and sprinkled on top the fish that was covered with ranch dressing, patted down and baked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Quick, easy and melt in your mouth good !! I wanted to try fish main dish instead of chicken and I wasn't disappointed. I did change afew things ( used what I had around the house ). I mixed italian bread crumbs and a generic seafood seasoning as the breading. I found it easy to apply the dressing with a spatula ( lightly ). I was suprised how it melted in my mouth and that the ranch wasn't overpowering. I will be making this again, soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Yummm! I used walleye, since that is what kind of fish I had, but this was a fabulous way to fix it...hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Excellent. I tried this recipe out on 2 of my brothers, they both liked it alot. I really didnt make any 'real' changes. I used flavored croutons instead of stuffing, and I melted butter and drizzled it over the top of the crumbs (I didnt have the spray). Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very good. I followed the recipe to a "T" except for using Spicy Ranch cause that's what I had in the frig. We often buy the already crusted, ready to bake frozen fillets and this recipe tops them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have seasoned stuffing croutons so I used 1 c panko with a little salt and pepper and 1/2 T dried parsley. For the ranch dressing I used the ranch seasoning from BEC on this site with 1/4 c milk ( buttermilk was old) and 1/4 c and 1 T of reduced fat mayo to get a dressing consistency. What was odd was that after the fish was baked it tasted like stuffing even though I didn't have stuffing croutons. Maybe it was the thyme in the ranch I don't know. All in all it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Just made this. Was a great, easy Monday night dish to prepare! I followed dbray's advise and blended a small amount of mustard, kosher salt and olive oil together and lightly brushed onto dressing covered cod. Instead of ranch, I used the peppercorn ranch I had on hand. I made fresh, dried bread crumbs and added some dried Italian seasoning for some flavor. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States