Baked Cod with Boursin Herb Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. Even my sometimes critical husband (who doesn't even really like fish) raved about it. I did make some minor changes however. I had no "spiced" tomatoes so I used canned diced tomatoes and sauted 3 cloves of garlic, 1 small onion finely chopped, and 1 small red pepper diced. I added the saute mixture to the tomatoes and put ove r the Boursin mixture. To all who want to save calories, spray baking dish with Pam and use a light herbed cream cheese ( Boursin is not necessary)!!! Will add to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This might not have been much to look at in terms of plating and presentation but man, oh man, was this ever delicious. Because this dish had Boursin cheese in it, which Hubs hates but agreed to tolerate for me, I deliberately made a hearty pasta dish to go with, thinking that this fish dish was going to be a total bust. Wow, what a surprise - for both of us. Best fish recipe I've made in awhile. I had fresh tomatoes and peppers from my garden so I used them in place of the canned tomatoes. I sauteed some shallots and finely chopped green pepper, added some fresh minced garlic, then cooked that a bit before adding the fresh, diced tomatoes. Since Hubs was so cooperative with the Boursin, I deliberately skipped the Parmesan, which he REALLY dislikes. I didn't miss it. The fish was flaky, tender and moist; the sauce to die for. This was so good even Boursin Hating Hubs loved it! Served with Penne with Garlicky Broccolini, also from this site, this was just an excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe- only changes I made were to use some happy cow cheese (garlic and herb flavor) and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. My husband loved it, will be a repeat dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
MY WIFE LOVED IT THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS I DICED A FRESH TOMATO AND ONION AND ADDED SOME FRESH BASIL. MY WIFE DOES NOT LIKE GARLIC. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT DINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very easy and yummy way to fix fish. Instead of Boursin, I used two wedges of Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb cheese, which was less fat but just as good. I also cut the butter down to 1 tbl. since it was just the two of us and I only had 1/2 lb. of fish. Excellent Valentine Meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I think this is one of the best meals I have ever made. I used light boursin and a tomato basil bruschetta topping. Tasted like I slaved over it all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Delicious! i made this 4 days ago and i am making it again...it is very tasty and super easy to make. I would recommend de drain de tomatoes pretty good in order to have a creamy sauce nd the end, the first time it was a bit watery. and I put more parmesan on top so it would be nice and "gratinee". it is pretty fool proof! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this with swordfish steaks and it was awesome. I hadn't used boursin cheese before and now that I have, I'll be using it in many other recipes. This dish practically makes itself and really impresses. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Easy and so very good. I used haddock (much better than our cod) and first time tried Laughing Cow but much prefer Boursin. As one reviewer suggested, I drained the tomatoes so the sauce would not be watery. Will be making again and again. Did not need to use butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very tasty and quick to put together. When served with wine and appetizer, this dish presents like an expensive, gourmet meal that took time to make. Drawback: Cheese and butter amounts make it not so heart healthy. I think next time I will choose a lighter cheese alternative, and use half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States