Baked Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! Salt would make this recipe perfect (but lack of salt isn't enough to demote it to 4 stars). Salt helps to compliment the sweetness. Salt your chicken before marinating in the coconut milk. Add a little salt to the breadcrumb mixture. The ginger snaps add a wonderful flavor and this recipe would be lacking without them (since the ginger snaps have a nice spiced and sweet flavor). THe baking method is great, just coat the pan with coconut milk (don't drench the chicken) and it will be perfect. Don't forget the pats of butter ontop of the chicken while cooking:). We loved this N*R recipe...do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was creative, unusual, fun to make but in the end it wasn't my favorite. I think the basic idea of coconut and ginger is great but this was much too sweet for my family's taste. I used unsweetened coconut but the gingersnaps is where all the sugar came from. I will try this recipe again without the cookies and add a little gorund ginger to the breading mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was a great recipe. I added a little salt and cayenne to it for a kick. So tasty! I also marinated my chicken overnight, made it super moist and tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kja303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We thought this was really good. After Hubby wrapped his head around the idea that it was chicken *AND* coconut together in the same recipe he thought it was really good and ate two pieces. The only change I made was salting the chicken before marinating it in the coconut milk. This is a good recipe if you are looking for a "different" way to have chicken! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
didn't have the cookies so i added nutmeg and cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was fast, easy, and tasty. Be sure to just barely coat the bottom of the baking dish with the coconut milk, otherwise it will make the bread crumbs very soggy. I substituted light coconut milk, to cut down on the fat, without impairing the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Mmmmm! I love coconut but hate any kind of spiced cookies so I just added some ginger to the bread crumb mixture as another review mentioned (and salt as suggested). Because of my love for coconut I also added a drop of coconut extract and a little left over coconut milk to the egg. Wasnt too coconut-ie just right :) I also used 3 chicken breast since I didnt have tenders and baked at 350 for 1hr (just because thats how I always bake chicken breast), mine was not soggy at all. I only added enough milk to coat the bottom of the pan so idk why everyone is getting soggy bottoms. My husband loved it too! We will have it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
delicious. I salted my chicken before. don't forget to use the hard type of ginger snaps...no soft ginger cookies. So good. The bad thing about sweet dishes or salty dishes, everyone has different tastes...this was to our liking very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDKLOVA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
The recipe was easy to make but not a family favorite. Made it for the coconut lovers when the coconut haters were out of town. Did not have the gingersnaps so I crushed some graham crackers and added a little ginger to the mix. We thought this was a little sweet for a main dish. It was ok, just not great. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I really like this recipe, although I will caution you about the shredded coconut. Be sure to use UNsweetened coconut; otherwise it may be too sweet for you. My gingersnaps (I used Shasha Co.'s, which are not really sweet) provided enough sweetness already. I added extra ginger to the mix for more ginger taste and used more breadcrumbs in place of some of the gingersnaps. I also left out the butter. Thanks, Katz! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States