Baked Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Both my bf and I liked this. I didn't have a clue what 1 1/2 lbs of my Costco chicken was, so I just used 4 chicken breasts. It took about 1/2 the can of coconut milk to cover them, so I used the other 1/2 in the pan when baking. It is a bit sweet--probably from the gingersnaps and the coconut milk--so I don't know that I'd use the gingersnaps again but maybe just use bread crumbs and put in ginger with them. I also think the coconut milk should go in the pan before the chicken, not after. Since we liked it, it's worth trying again with a few tweaks. Thanks for the recipe. N*R Go to the Recipe Exchange to hear about N*R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! Salt would make this recipe perfect (but lack of salt isn't enough to demote it to 4 stars). Salt helps to compliment the sweetness. Salt your chicken before marinating in the coconut milk. Add a little salt to the breadcrumb mixture. The ginger snaps add a wonderful flavor and this recipe would be lacking without them (since the ginger snaps have a nice spiced and sweet flavor). THe baking method is great, just coat the pan with coconut milk (don't drench the chicken) and it will be perfect. Don't forget the pats of butter ontop of the chicken while cooking:). We loved this N*R recipe...do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe. Made exactly as written and we were all pleased with the result. One tip: be sure to purchase 'crisp' gingersnaps and not soft ones. Thanks, Katz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We thought this was really good. After Hubby wrapped his head around the idea that it was chicken *AND* coconut together in the same recipe he thought it was really good and ate two pieces. The only change I made was salting the chicken before marinating it in the coconut milk. This is a good recipe if you are looking for a "different" way to have chicken! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was creative, unusual, fun to make but in the end it wasn't my favorite. I think the basic idea of coconut and ginger is great but this was much too sweet for my family's taste. I used unsweetened coconut but the gingersnaps is where all the sugar came from. I will try this recipe again without the cookies and add a little gorund ginger to the breading mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
The recipe was easy to make but not a family favorite. Made it for the coconut lovers when the coconut haters were out of town. Did not have the gingersnaps so I crushed some graham crackers and added a little ginger to the mix. We thought this was a little sweet for a main dish. It was ok, just not great. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
delicious. I salted my chicken before. don't forget to use the hard type of ginger snaps...no soft ginger cookies. So good. The bad thing about sweet dishes or salty dishes, everyone has different tastes...this was to our liking very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDKLOVA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Something different for those who like variety... a bit on the sweet side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
very good! sprinkled salt on each chix breast to cut sweetness. accompanied with asparagus polonaise and near east long grain rice. it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was so good. Definitely too sweet for some, but not for me. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States