Baked Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Mmmmm! I love coconut but hate any kind of spiced cookies so I just added some ginger to the bread crumb mixture as another review mentioned (and salt as suggested). Because of my love for coconut I also added a drop of coconut extract and a little left over coconut milk to the egg. Wasnt too coconut-ie just right :) I also used 3 chicken breast since I didnt have tenders and baked at 350 for 1hr (just because thats how I always bake chicken breast), mine was not soggy at all. I only added enough milk to coat the bottom of the pan so idk why everyone is getting soggy bottoms. My husband loved it too! We will have it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I really like this recipe, although I will caution you about the shredded coconut. Be sure to use UNsweetened coconut; otherwise it may be too sweet for you. My gingersnaps (I used Shasha Co.'s, which are not really sweet) provided enough sweetness already. I added extra ginger to the mix for more ginger taste and used more breadcrumbs in place of some of the gingersnaps. I also left out the butter. Thanks, Katz! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
It was okay...I followed the recipe exactly. It was edible, but, it was too sweet, soggy, and it was hard getting passed the ginger snaps. I will try the receipe again with a few changes... 1. Omit coconut milk from baking dish and add more butter or chicken stock to keep it moist. 2. Decrease number of ginger snaps used and increase bread crumbs. 3. Add additional coconut flakes the last 10 min to toast. I will update my review and let you know how the changes went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This tasted good, but I couldn't get passed the sogginess. A true mess in my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Add a couple of tablespoons of hot sauce to the marinade(we always use Franks)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuckie j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I skipped on the gingersnap cookies and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I'm not sure if I will make this again. The bottoms of the chicken were soggy. If I do try the recipe again, I will omit the coconut from the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
didn't have the cookies so i added nutmeg and cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was fast, easy, and tasty. Be sure to just barely coat the bottom of the baking dish with the coconut milk, otherwise it will make the bread crumbs very soggy. I substituted light coconut milk, to cut down on the fat, without impairing the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was a great recipe. I added a little salt and cayenne to it for a kick. So tasty! I also marinated my chicken overnight, made it super moist and tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kja303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States