Baked Chicken with Applesauce Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Very good recipe. I modified it slightly to slowly cook the onions and celery (of which I used two stalks) in 1/4 cup of butter in a sautee pan for about 15 minutes. This softened the onions and helped them more readily dissolve into the stuffing. I also added all the herbs and seasonings to the onion mixture and let it sit for about an hour before continuing the prep. When it came time to put everyting together, I then mixed the onion/celery mixture into the breadcrumbs (I used corn bread) and spread it onto the baking dish. A few other recommendations for improvement beyond this: Take out the chicken at the 1.5 hour mark, then spread out the stuffing onto a shallow baking dish and continue to cook for about 15 more minutes. I found the stuffing a touch too moist and this would dry it out just enough. Also, if you sautee the onions/celery first, you definitely DO NOT need the extra butter drizzled on top. Also, only 1/2 a can of chicken stock is necessary to achieve the right moisture level (I think next time I'd even cut the applesauce down by 1/3 to keep it from becoming too wet). All that said, however, it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I used a boneless whole chicken breast for ease... the skin was crispy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Delicious. Made it without modification. Great applesauce flavor. Family wants more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonneauville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Like Steve said above, I would definitely saute the onions & celery first, and add less applesauce & broth. The stuffing had a very delicious and unique flavour, but was too moist. Both my husband & I loved it so I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya MacKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Awesome recipe! My boyfriend and I had a great time making this really simple dish. Tasted great! Really moist and delicious. Chicken fell right off the bone. I'd recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I didnt like how this turned out at all. The butter on top made it greasy, the stuffing was very mushy and the seasoning combination was just weird tasting. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'll make this dish again because of its convenience/ease, but the satisfactory stuffing flavor only rates 3 stars. I sauteed the onion and celery beforehand (with a few sliced carrots I had hanging out in the fridge), and assembled the rest of the dish as directed. After one-and-a-half hours in the oven at 375, the chicken was bordering on overcooked. Still, this dish fits nicely into a busy schedule (quick to assemble and frees up your time while it's in the oven), and healthy enough to earn a reappearance on my kitchen table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
very good and interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Dry, need more applsauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this using boneless, skinless chicken breast (6) It took about an hour. I thought it was too sage-y, but everyone else liked it. The clean up on my pan... not fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States