Baked Chicken with Applesauce Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe!! I made it for my husbands birthday and he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Souderton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I didn't use chicken though! I've been using this to stuff my turkey's for a few years. It was perfect!! I added some ginger to it and used only a bit of chicken broth, that's all I changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I didnt like how this turned out at all. The butter on top made it greasy, the stuffing was very mushy and the seasoning combination was just weird tasting. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
very good, ive made this twice. once following the recipe and the second time with modifacations. both times it was very good. i however wasn't too fond of the texture of the breadcrumb stuffing, although the flavor was very good. so the second time i used regualr stuffing and added extra applesauce. we enjoyed this meal very much. i do love the idea though of using bread crumbs as stuffing, a great improvising idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I used a boneless whole chicken breast for ease... the skin was crispy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Like Steve said above, I would definitely saute the onions & celery first, and add less applesauce & broth. The stuffing had a very delicious and unique flavour, but was too moist. Both my husband & I loved it so I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya MacKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Very good recipe. I modified it slightly to slowly cook the onions and celery (of which I used two stalks) in 1/4 cup of butter in a sautee pan for about 15 minutes. This softened the onions and helped them more readily dissolve into the stuffing. I also added all the herbs and seasonings to the onion mixture and let it sit for about an hour before continuing the prep. When it came time to put everyting together, I then mixed the onion/celery mixture into the breadcrumbs (I used corn bread) and spread it onto the baking dish. A few other recommendations for improvement beyond this: Take out the chicken at the 1.5 hour mark, then spread out the stuffing onto a shallow baking dish and continue to cook for about 15 more minutes. I found the stuffing a touch too moist and this would dry it out just enough. Also, if you sautee the onions/celery first, you definitely DO NOT need the extra butter drizzled on top. Also, only 1/2 a can of chicken stock is necessary to achieve the right moisture level (I think next time I'd even cut the applesauce down by 1/3 to keep it from becoming too wet). All that said, however, it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Delicious. Made it without modification. Great applesauce flavor. Family wants more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonneauville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
very good and interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States