Baked Chicken Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Whoever transposed this recipe changed some things. This was my grandma's specialty growing up and I recently copied the recipe exactly from the cookbook she used - it should be 2 tablespoons of diced bell pepper (green, red, whatever), not 2 cups, and the recipe calls for a 10 oz package of peas, which is probably a bit more than just a cup. Also, a dash of salt should be in there somewhere. Given those changes, this is the best thing. It's a little weird, maybe, but the flavor is outstanding and the mix of textures is awesome. It is also great cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Easy to make and makes great leftovers. We like using a crusty french bread for the bread cubes, and we use vegetarian chicken tenders cut into small cubes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Veggies too crunchy even after I sauted prior to assembling. I had to make a lot of changes to this just to make it work. Should use a 11x7 inch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Very, very yummy! I made this recipe when I wanted a comforting food -- boy did I find it! I was afraid it was going to taste "canned soupy" but not at all. I did make the following changes: no water chesnuts, no pimento, chicken broth instead of wine, italian bread crumbs instead of the white bread, and Monterey Jack for cheese. I also added 4 potatoes that I cubed and nuked a bit while I was chopping the rest. Absolutely divine - unfortunately I had to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This recipe was bland and flavorless. My husband said it was 'ok'. All I could taste was the red bell pepper. Definitely not worth the effort it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was simple and good! I used packaged bread crumbs instead of the bread cubes and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This got raves from hubby and his two frineds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENOFCOMFORT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This tasted a lot better the second day. I felt it was a little liquidy on the first day. I don't think I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This dinner was ok, but we preferred the Almond Chicken casserole. I thought this recipe had too much red pepper and not enough flavour. Needed some spices in it. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
I REPLACED THE BREAD TO A DOUBLE PIE CRUST CASSEROLE, AND IT WAS GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States