Baked Chicken Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
As other said, I liked all the ingredients and thought this would be a five. I followed recipe except for reducing the Thousand Island Dressing. I am glad I did because the baking dish was swimming in sauce. I didn't finish mine and my partner did but we got rid of the leftovers. It was easy to make - oh, I also reduced the cooking time to 50 minutes and it was cooked. I would think it depends on the thickness of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! Have made it several times and am always asked "can I have the recipe for this?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Not sure how this has so many rave reviews. Watery, bland and nothing special. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Awesome! I first fixed Chicken Reuben over 30 years ago and have tried a variety of minor changes but always come back to the basic recipe. One thing I have discovered NOTE: Do NOT USE WISHBONE dressing!!! For some reason, when Wishbone is cooked, it turns quite bitter. I have found that Kraft holds it's flavor and actually becomes slightly more flavorful when cooked. Also, try this dish substituting Catalina dressing or your favorite dressing flavor. I always sandwich the chicken breasts between layers of the swiss cheese, and construct mine with the kraut on the bottom, then the dressing, a layer of swiss, the chicken, another layer of swiss and finally another layer of dressing. Also, another hint. The low fat swiss seems to lose flavor and texture. If you are going to make this, I suggest you get a good swiss cheese. Good swiss and Kraft dressing make a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
We love Reubens, so tonight I was searching for something different to do with the chicken breasts and came across this, I decided to give this a try. I made a little bit of homemade Thousand Island (Russian) Dressing, and I sprinkled some caraway seeds over the kraut to notch up the dressing a bit. I also seasoned the breasts with some "Nature's Own0 (seasoned salt) before assembling the layers. I have a bread machine and had everything I needed to make some rye bread, which I served on the side. Added a crispy Kosher dill, some small potatoes roasted, first cutting into large pieces then rubbing with olive oil and addes a bit of dry onion soup mix. (This is a recipe on it's own, and can be usually found on the Lipton dry soup website or on the web). We had a small salad with marinated halved grape tomatoes over a little fresh romaine. Oh My!! What a delicious meal! We all loved it and I have added it to my regular "rotation" meals. By the way, I have made it using both havarti cheese and provolone cheese. It is good with either! I hpe your family will enjoy it as much as mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years. My aunt made it back when I was a little girl. When I grew up I asked about it, and she told me it was an award winner in a magazine she saw. I had no idea it was so easy! My family loves it. I usually put the chicken on top on the sauerkraut, then pour on the dressing, and I save the cheese for when I remove the foil for the last 20 minutes of baking. I serve it with mashed potatoes and green salad for a hearty meal, or just salad when we want something lighter. I purposely make left-overs, since it is just as good if not better the next day. I cannot recommend this recipe enough. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have used a this exact recipe soooo many times for my family and friends. This has always been a winner and is always in my "memory" recipe box! The sauerkraut really makes the chicken tender. I usually serve a baked potatoe and a green salad to complete the meal. This recipe was introduced to me a long time ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1848

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Used shredded rotisserie chicken, drained Vclassic sauerkraut, swiss cheese and russian dressing from scratch layered in the same order in the crockpot for 4 hrs on low. Then served on grilled buttered french bread. Scrumptous! A hit even with the 3y.o. Thanks for another no fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I loved this. I had 3 chicken breasts which were HUGE, so I sliced them in half. So I had 6 pieces of chicken. Instead of 16 oz of the saurkraut the can I bought was 14 oz. And I miscalculated and used 16 oz of Thousand Island dressing instead of the recommended 12 oz. I cooked it on 325 degrees for 90 minutes, and it was perfect. Tangy, and unique tasting. I served mine with a baked potato. Delicious. Easy because you just stick it in the oven and dinner is ready in an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe sounded weird to me, but it is actually delicious! We used boneless thighs instead, and served it with simple boiled potatoes. It's tangy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States