Baked Chicken-Fried Steak with Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
For those of us that eat venison I used venison cube steak. Used cream of mushroom since that is what I had on hand. Very tasty & tender. Just a different way of making it instead of traditional brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The kids love it...the cube was so tender...I followed the recipe and add to it a bit...I used some crushed stuffing crumbs as plus the flour - it was awesome! Made so much - have enough for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this a few nights ago & it was pretty good. I don't eat onions, but don't mind the flavor. I added dried onion flakes n cut back on the cooking time. It was good. Even my way 2 picky eater 4 yr old son liked it. Next time I will double gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've cooked this a couple times now, with both porkchops and cube steak. I loved it both times, hubby liked the meat but not the gravy. Kids both liked it. Tasted the best to me when we used cream of mushroom instead of chicken and omitted the sliced mushrooms. We also changed it up once by dipping the meat in an egg wash, then Italian panko crumbs and cooking it as directed - gave it a better crunch underneath the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
made recipe as stated-Its fast to make & the cubed steak is tender but the recipe really lacks flavor-think i'll try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Waaaayy too salty for me. Followed recipe to a "T". My son & bf loved it. I did not. I will make this again, but I will tweak it more for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very good, but needed more seasoning. Gravy not real thick. Excellent with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Ienjoyed this recipe. however my son says he prefers chicken fried steak. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this was really good and we will have it again the only thing i changed was that i made it in the crock pot, cooked for about 8 hours and i also did not add any extra water to the soup mix, just what the mushrooms were in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty_9884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kendallville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The sauce was good so overall i will give the recipe a good rating bc the meat was very tender. But, my family generally is not a fan of cubbed steak but i wanted to give it a try bc this recipe looked good. Any cubbed steak lover will enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States