Baked Chicken-Fried Steak with Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was VERY good and I will definitely make it again! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly as written. You could change the soup used. I had cream of chicken, but any cream soup would work I'm sure. The thing that took the longest was the frying because my skillet would only hold two at a time, 5 min. per side, you do the math. When I fried this, I used Peanut Oil. I really prefer using Peanut Oil because it has a high heat tolerance, which means it doesn't spatter much, if at all. Make sure that when you make this, the oil is very hot! Just throw a pinch of flour in when you think it should be hot...the flour should pop and dance when it hits the oil. Once the frying is done, it's just assembly and it's easy. We served this with instant mashed potatoes and it was very good! My husband and son cleaned their plates and I had hardly any left over...in fact, it may be gone now as I speak. Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Yum! The process of baking the steaks in the oven makes the meat nicely tender. We love gravy, so I doubled it using a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom soup. (The cream of chicken soup really does add a nice flavor.) We also adore mushrooms, so I sauteed a pound of fresh mushrooms to substitute for the canned mushrooms asked for in the recipe. I served this with greens and mashed potatoes and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is delicious. Thank you so much for sharing! I made it exactly as is, since this was the first time making it. The only thing I did differently was added the onion into the gravy instead of just on top of the steaks and I also used chopped sirloin steaks instead of cube and laid them in a single layer in the baking dish instead of doubled. But either way this is a keeper and I will be making this again. I am even adding it to my every two week rotation! The gravy was perfect for my 5 chopped steaks, but if you like a lot of gravy I would double it. It was very flavorful and just simply amazing. My husband could not say enough good things about it and wanted to make sure I planned on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SubmarinersWife08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kings Bay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Only ingredient difference was I added skim milk in place of the water called for. Baked at either 350 or 330 covered the entire time. Paired with "carnation creamy cheesy mashed potatoes". Awesome dinner that we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was an excellent recipe for chicken fried steak! We love plenty of gravy so I tripled the soup and added 2 cans of water/juice from the mushrooms. Instead of layering and sprinkling with diced onion, I put the steak in a single layer and covered it with thinly sliced onion. I served it with cooked egg noodles, which I served with the gravy as well. I baked the chicken fried steak covered for the first 15 minutes at 350 and dropped the temp to 300 and baked for an additional 45 minutes as the recipe indicates. When I lifted the cover, the gravy was not bubbling. So, I took the lid off, turned the oven back up to 350 and baked it for an additional 30 minutes. The gravy bubbled and thickened. I would recommend cooking it uncovered before serving. The meat was tender and the gravy delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good recipe except I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and canned mushrooms. Even my 2 yr old asked for seconds on this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this recipe but instead of baking the steak I made it in the crock pot! Very tender and tasty! My family loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
this was really good and we will have it again the only thing i changed was that i made it in the crock pot, cooked for about 8 hours and i also did not add any extra water to the soup mix, just what the mushrooms were in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty_9884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kendallville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is excellent. I modified it slightly by using fresh rather than canned mushrooms and only baked it for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Waaaayy too salty for me. Followed recipe to a "T". My son & bf loved it. I did not. I will make this again, but I will tweak it more for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States