Baked Chicken-Fried Steak with Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was VERY good and I will definitely make it again! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly as written. You could change the soup used. I had cream of chicken, but any cream soup would work I'm sure. The thing that took the longest was the frying because my skillet would only hold two at a time, 5 min. per side, you do the math. When I fried this, I used Peanut Oil. I really prefer using Peanut Oil because it has a high heat tolerance, which means it doesn't spatter much, if at all. Make sure that when you make this, the oil is very hot! Just throw a pinch of flour in when you think it should be hot...the flour should pop and dance when it hits the oil. Once the frying is done, it's just assembly and it's easy. We served this with instant mashed potatoes and it was very good! My husband and son cleaned their plates and I had hardly any left over...in fact, it may be gone now as I speak. Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Yum! The process of baking the steaks in the oven makes the meat nicely tender. We love gravy, so I doubled it using a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom soup. (The cream of chicken soup really does add a nice flavor.) We also adore mushrooms, so I sauteed a pound of fresh mushrooms to substitute for the canned mushrooms asked for in the recipe. I served this with greens and mashed potatoes and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good. I would make this again. I didnt have any cans of mushroom on hand. And I really like lots of gravy with my meat. So, I used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom. Mixed those together and added some fresh mushrooms I had. Turned out very well and the meat was tender. The gravy had lots of flavor so I think next time I will omit seasoning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very good recipe except I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and canned mushrooms. Even my 2 yr old asked for seconds on this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I thought it was wonderful and the gravy was full of flavor. My husband liked the steak, but not the gravy. Def. cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is excellent. I modified it slightly by using fresh rather than canned mushrooms and only baked it for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
this was similar to a crockpot recipe I make. I thought it was a little bland though. I may make it again but I would definitly change some stuff around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riska720

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I'm glad I made your recipe, so is my family. Everyone thought it was very tasty and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this recipe but instead of baking the steak I made it in the crock pot! Very tender and tasty! My family loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was an excellent recipe for chicken fried steak! We love plenty of gravy so I tripled the soup and added 2 cans of water/juice from the mushrooms. Instead of layering and sprinkling with diced onion, I put the steak in a single layer and covered it with thinly sliced onion. I served it with cooked egg noodles, which I served with the gravy as well. I baked the chicken fried steak covered for the first 15 minutes at 350 and dropped the temp to 300 and baked for an additional 45 minutes as the recipe indicates. When I lifted the cover, the gravy was not bubbling. So, I took the lid off, turned the oven back up to 350 and baked it for an additional 30 minutes. The gravy bubbled and thickened. I would recommend cooking it uncovered before serving. The meat was tender and the gravy delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States