Baked Chicken and Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ginger Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I love this recipe. I did end up making some changes based on other reviews and I have made this at least four times already. I am not a huge zucchini eater, and this makes the veggie yummy. Here are the changes I have made. 1.I use panko flakes in breading the chicken and sprinkle the chicken w/ Italian Seasoning II on this site. When I brown the chicken, I also throw in two cloves of minced garlic. 2. I do not saute the zucchini, instead I rub some olive oil over it (make sure to cut in big chunks) and then sprinkle some Italian seasoning over it and then some salt, followed by the bread crumbs. 3. After I saute the chicken I throw 1/4 cup of diced onion and 1 diced red bell pepper into the pan and saute until they are soft. Then I place this on top of the zucchini after the bread crumbs, then I place 1/2 a tomato, sliced and then the mozzarella and finally the chicken. Always turns out fantastic. Big hit w/ hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
The chicken was very moist, tender and tasty. The zucchini was overcooked, however. I think next time I will try it without sauting the zucchini first and see if it comes out better. Start to finish was closer to 1-1/2 hours, but then I am a bit slow:-) Overall, a good recipe and a keeper.****UPDATE**** I fixed this again. I put the zucchini in the pan raw and the zucchini turned out much better that way (it wasn't overcooked). Plus, it didn't take as long to prepare :-) I will continue to do this dish. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Excellent recipe! I took the suggestions of others and only sauteed the zucchini very briefly: just a minute or enough to coat the zucchini in the olive oil. I used plain bread crumbs made from toasted bread, dried basil (about 1-2 tsp) mixed with freshly grated mozzarella, and fresh heirloom tomatoes. It turned out really well. A very healthy meal that I will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe, the one thing I did differently was I used canned tomatoes with an Italian seasoning, it gave the whole dish a little more flavor. Also, I always marinate chicken in Italian dressing to give it some extra moisture and flavor, because I did this I did not need the egg mixture, I just dipped the marinated chicken in the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Really hearty and delightful! I added sauteed portabello mushroom, garlic, & sliced onion in between the tomato and chicken layers. Had to cook in the oven for roughly 45 minutes...but I think that was because my breasts were big. (In food terms, not in my own body terms...sadly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Quite tasty. I added some garlic, used canned italian diced tomatoes and went lighter on the cheese. Really pretty dish with all the colors. I also didn't pre cook the zucchini and it came out perfectly. Just enough bite left to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I loved this dish! I made this for my boyfriend who normally isn't too fond of vegetables, but he ate it all up. I thought the recipe called for too many zucchinis, so I just put 3 in the dish. I was wrong. Definitely use all 5 because the zucchini is one of the best parts. It soaks all the juices!! Yummy! Also, I only baked the chicken about 20 minutes because I had the thinly cut chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! I thought the chicken was delicious but I felt like the zucchini needed a little more flavor & yes, like those who reviewed it before had said, the zucchini was overdone. Next time I will not saute the zucchini and I will add some garlic, onions, plus a little salt & pepper to the zucchini layer. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Very easy, and quick. I halved the recipe so we'd have a perfect amount for my bf and I for dinner. It really was the perfect amount, with 2 servings of veggies for us. I didn't fry the zucchini and have to agree with most of the other reviewers who said it would be mushy if it is fried. As it was, it was perfectly cooked. I don't think I'll use the egg with the chicken next time--just season and dip in bread crumbs, as the chicken we use has more water in it and does not usually need the egg. Otherwise, we loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband, who doesn't like much change from his normal meat and potatoes diet, loved it. This is a great simple recipe for using the tomatoes and zucchini from my garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States