Baked Chicken and Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Excellent! Use low-sodium broth, though. It is very salty. I boiled the chicken for 10 minutes and then cut into bite-sized pieces. The chicken finished cooking in the oven. I also used the Pepperidge Farm stuffing and I used the whole bag. (14 oz or so. There is no seasoning mix with the bagged variety. I added the TINIEST bit of poultry seasoning to mine and stirred well.) Be sure to use extra broth. (I used the whole can.) As others have stated--it IS necessary to cover for most of the baking time. I uncovered for the last 15 minutes. Just as good with less cheese. I also used reduced-fat soups and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Forgot to add the cheese the last time I made it until I had already put the stuffing on top of everything! I ended up putting the shredded cheese over the cubed stuffing and I put the cover on the casserole lightly and cooked as usual. We liked the result even better than the usual way which was cheese under the bread crumbs so we'll be doing it this way from now on. My husband absolutely loves this recipe with sliced mushrooms and chopped broccoli. I also add carrots and sometimes celery for more texture and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I thought this was good. I used 2 cans cream of chicken soup and didn't boil my chicken. I used reduced sodium broth and 1/2 of a 14oz bag Pepperidge Farms herb stuffing( no seasoning bag comes with this).I still thought it was way to salty. I'm not an expert,but it seems to me that the saltiness was coming from the herb seasoning. Next time I will use plain stuffing and if you use herb seasoning packet,try using only half of it.Maybe this would help in cutting back on the saltiness of this. I made with some frozen chopped spinach and put some sauce on top and it was wonderful. I bet it would be good on potatoes too.I will make again with these changes and hope it helps because it really is a tasty dish.Thanks Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This was really tasty. I made a couple changes: I used thin chicken and didn't boil it first. Not necessary. I cut up a head of broccoli, blanched it quickly, and put it in a layer over the chicken. I used Pepperidge Farm stuffing moistened with the rest of the can of chicken broth. Also used Cheddar Cheese. Very tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was very good! My husband is not into casserole dishes that much and he had seconds! One word of caution though... I am a salt lover but even this was too salty for me. Next time I will use low sodium soups. Also, I cooked the chicken with a little bit of oil instead of boiling. I used a cup of milk to mix the soups and one cup of broth to mix the stuffing. This goes great with a side of asparagus or broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
My mother-in-law made this dish first, and it was extremely salty. I altered the recipe by using unseasoned chicken (cooked in plain water) and by using water in place of the chicken broth, and used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. This cut way down on the salty taste. Next time I will either cover the baking dish, or perhaps layer the soups over the top of the stuffing to keep it moist. We all enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Great recipe! I added another box of stuffing and added about 2 cups of water to the 1/2 cup chicken broth because I didn't think there would be enough liquid to absorb into the stuffing. I went about a 1/2 cup too much but it still turned out fine. Great taste and pretty quick and easy too! Much better recipe than what is on the back of the StoveTop box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This recipe was so easy and tasted great! I baked covered for 30 minutes then uncovered for 20 minutes and it came out perfect. I will use more stuffing next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnmw
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Delicious! I used cheddar cheese instead of the mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
With most of my family being under the weather with winter viruses this was a nice and easy . I did add cheddar cheese like other reviews had mentioned and did cover with foil for the first half of the cooking time. I added a little more liquid to keep the stuffing more moist.I also served gourmet sweetpotaos and a salad of baby greens.thanks for the delicious recipe. ps. cube or cut chicken into smaller pieces,it will be easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Parmesan-Crusted Chicken

See how to make a simple breaded and baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States