Baked Chicken and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Great recipe: One way to make sure the chicken stays moist is to spray cooking spray on the bottom of the pan. I always add extra spices to recipes and I did just that for this one. I added parsley, oregano, and basil sprinkling it on the chicken with the paprika, salt and pepper. I also sprayed the top of the chicken with cooking spray to keep it moist. It took about 45 minutes to cook the chicken. The chicken was very moist and by itself was a little to much lemon juice but I mixed it with white rice and the flavors where perfect. I will def. make this again and would recommened it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I was really hoping to like this recipe; unfortunately, after two preparations using the original, unmodified recipe, I can't say that I do. I will not be making this again, nor can I think of any changes to make to the recipe to improve it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was good, but I had to change a few things as always- I just can't help myself! Instead of white wine I used white zinfandel- this type of wine with chicken is awesome, gives a very unique but delicious flavor. I would have used half the amount of lemon juice; I love lemon, but I don't want it to be the main flavor of the dish- a little overpowering. I did not use a whole head of garlic, and probably would have prefered it minced instead of sliced. No paprika. I used garlic powder instead. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe was great! I added thinly sliced potatoes to the bottom. I also omited the wine because I didn't have any on hand. The potatoes soaked up all of the delicious flavor. I will definately try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Good flavor but I suggest cooking it at 400. Onions were not cooked. Make it with sliced potato and WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this chicken. However, there was not enough taste too it, even after using plenty of paprika. To make it more appealing, I cooked it with tortellini pasta. I placed the chicken, with the onions and garlic slices and placed it on a bed of tortellin, stuffed with aspargus and cheese.Very good! My fiance liked it better the second time! I suggest it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I was not very impressed with this recipe. It took twice as long to cook as listed and it make a nice chicken breast but not much taste. The chicken was great for salads or pastas later but as a main dish not too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
My husband and I were both very pleased with this recipe. We squeezed lemons for the juice, and omitted the paprika, simply because we didn't have any on hand. We also used thinner chicken breasts, which really soaked up the flavor. I plan to incorporate it with pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyBooBop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romance, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Amazing- took longer than respected to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very bland - won't make our menu rotation. Chicken was tender but other than that, there's not much positive to say about this one. Took longer to cook than stated, onions didn't soften up, and there was very little flavor. Perhaps this would be a good way to cook chicken for other recipes such as salads or pastas, but it didn't stand well on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States