Baked Chicken Amandine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Everyone in my family enjoyed this. 2 cups of cheese is a bit too much. I just covered the top of the casserole and that was plenty. Don't leave off the almonds. They add a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Awesome! I followed some other notes on cutting the fat some, but you HAVE to use butter. I think any substitute will make it flat on flavor (probably why low-fat versions get low ratings). I substituted the mayo for fat free sour cream, the cheddar for reduced fat cheddar, and I used only 3 TBS of butter instead of the 4. I decided on fresh broccoli which I steamed for about 5 mins before I put it in the dish. Also, I sauteed about 4 small shallots in olive oil which I included in the broccoli layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was really good. I was leary with 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and mayo but the end result is quite tasty. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Estacada, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Wonderful! I did add minced garlic and some dried dill to boost the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I cut the recipe in half for my husband and me. We really thought it was delicious! The only change I made was to sprinkle lemon juice on it as it was served. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Ok, so I made two versions of this dish side-by-side, one with fat-free sour cream and the other more or less according to the recipe. I cook for a friend's celiac daughters who could use a little meat on their bones, so the version that was made closest to the recipe was made gluten-free, substituting cream of chicken soup with a GF white sauce (made with butter, cornstarch, chicken bouillion, and heavy cream). For this version, everything else was according to the recipe with the one other substitution of GF cornflakes instead of the crackers. Very yummy, I think the girls will really like this. The other version was for my family, and since my husband and I are watching our fat intake, I used fat-free sour cream instead of mayonnaise. Personally I prefered the taste of our's better than the girls' as I found theirs a bit too tangy from the mayonnaise, but obviously this is a matter of personal taste. For ours, I also substituted white sauce for the cream of chicken soup (impossible to get in Spain), using skimmed milk instead of cream. The end result was delicious but as I had to prepare the sauce first, it wasn't such a quick recipe. One other thing- does anyone else find it odd that the recipe calls for COOKED chicken, and then to cook it for nearly an hour??? I used fresh cubed chicken breasts, lightly floured it and sauteed it for about 3-4 minutes and then baked it in the casserole, in total, 40 minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Big disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this recipe just the way it is so that I was fair on rating it. My husband loved it!! My daughter on the otherhand thought it was a little too creamy..But overall it was great tasting and easy to make for a busy family. I will definately make this again but a little less mayo and soup mixture to please my daughter. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This meal is a great twist on one that I've made before. Even my (very) picky husband said, "I have no suggestions at all," which happens about 1 out of 20 recipes. Even my 3 sons who do not like casseroles or veggies loved this. I sub'd one can of cr. of celery for one of the cr. of chicken soups, green peas with pearl onions (yum) for the broccoli and used mayo with olive oil (because that was what was in my kitchen) and there were no problems. I increased the cracker/ butter mix because I know my boys love it, and included the nuts in it. Normally I would have mixed the chicken and veggies in with the soup/ mayo mix, so layering made for an interesting method that worked great. All in all I decided that this is a very flexible recipe that can be tweaked to utilize items that are on hand... and it will be used in the future! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Pretty good, I followed the recipe as listed. I found it a little salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States