Baked Chicken & Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed this combination - more than I expected to, actually. My only complaint with the recipe is that the cooking time seems to be off. If the chicken is first browned, then allowed to cook for the length of time suggested, I'm afraid you'll end up with rubber. I zapped my sprouts (halved) and onions with the chicken broth in the microwave to get them started, then added the browned chicken and cooked for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. This turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I had fresh brussels sprouts and chicken to make for dinner. Found this recipe, read reviews. Some said bland. Not bland now, fried 4 slices chopped bacon, removed, added some olive oil and sauteed chicken sprinkled with garlic powder.Added sprouts and rest of ing. put bacon on top followed baking directions. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
i like this recipe because i love brussel sprouts. i made it with leftover brussel sprouts from Thanksgiving and rosemary from the spice rack. good, easy, healthy meal. served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Sometimes
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used frozen sprouts, and dried rosemary, that worked just fine. The recipe in itself is quite good, but next time I think I'll try using garlic and maybe a bit of bacon as suggested by other reviewers. And fresh rosemary might even be better than the dried one. Will make again:) Edit: I made it a second time, but omitted the part of frying the chicken. I let it cook in the stock whilst baking. It turned out just fine. I also added a bit of garlic, and I liked the added flavour, but then I like just about anything with garlic;) I didn't use/eat the stock, but I guess you could freeze it for making soup later etc. I will continue to try this dish with other changes maybe, it has great potential for those of us who love sprouts:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Sometimes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this for my girlfriend (now wife) a few times and she now frequently asks for it. I never thought I would like brussels sprouts but they are actually quite good when fixed this way. Also, the smell from the oven by itself is worth making this dish, it truly fills the house with a wonderful aroma. Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was just ok. The brussels sprouts were good, but the chicken was bland and dry. Probably not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Quick and easy! Slightly bland in flavor, but I love brussel sprouts and I love an easy meal that doesn't require a lot of attention. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I only gave this one star for the brussel sprouts. Way too much rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I like brussels sprouts, but I really did not think the rosemary complemented them. Overall, this recipe has good intentions, but the spice mixture is just a little off. I ate it because I hate to waste food, but I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Not great. We love brussels and this was not our fave. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States