Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
These were all right. Nice change from the usual fried stuff, but these were not real easy to coat, I've noticed - the egg and flour mixture didn't make the breading stick too well - I think the flakes were a little too heavy in consistency. I'd make them again, though - probably with a few changes to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
tryed making sure that cheese was covered by egg and crumbs but still the cheese melted and was quite a mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
The cheese was over melted and the bread crumbs did not stick. Will try these again. Maybe it wasn't beginners luck. But will try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I thought that I would give these a shot using bread crumbs instead of the cornflakes. When I took them out of the oven after the 8 minutes they looked fine, but the breading looked uncooked, so I turned the oven off & let them sit in there a few minutes, and they melted. The breading held it's shape & everything, but some of the cheese leaked out. I think that next time I will use the whole egg, instead of just the white & see what happens then. Even with the "leaky" cheese they were good (I mean they are just going to get chewed anyway, right)? Something to tinker with, thanks Lynda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
While these didn't taste too bad, the cheese leaked everywhere and made them completely unpresentable. I will not be trying these again; if anyone out there wants cheese sticks I would recommend trying something that involves frying the mozzarella between two slices of Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Yup, these were leakers! Thought I'd give these a try because they're healthier than frying. They just melted away. Although they were certainly good in taste, I'll have to stick to my fry daddy way of cooking cheese sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These were ok. I think I did something wrong, but they tasted more like mozzarella flavored cornflakes than cheese sticks. To everyone who complained about there cheese sticks "leaking", you guys didn't coat it well. anyway, thanx Lynda, but i dont think ill be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Lynda- I used this recipe, and I made sure that the coating was COMPLETELY cover at least twice! The cheese STILL leaked out, I don't really care for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Pretty good, considering I made a few changes to the original recipe. instead of cornflakes, I used about 1 and 1/2 cups of seasoned breadcrumbs. also, If you cut an entire brick of moz. cheese, it makes about 24 semi-big cheese sticks. I did have a few problems with leaking cheese, and after reading other reveiws, I coated each stick 2-3 times with egg and breadcrumb. After baking them at 400 degrees for 8 minutes, the crust wasn't very hard, so I let the cheese harden, then put them in at 425 for another 5 minutes or so. With these changes, the recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
With 3 stars, I decided to give this recipe a try. I more or less got a mozzerella cheese casserole with breading bricks (i used bread crumbs too). Two suggestions that I'll try next time: 1. Sweetened cornflakes might be a good idea. The cheese is incredibly salty and salty breading only makes it worse. 2. FREEZING or REFRIDGERATING the breadsticks would make it possible to crustify and crunch-itize the coating, and melt the cheese so that it doesn't ooze. This is how they make Deep Fried Ice Cream =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States