Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Season your flour. S & P, garlic powder, oregano, your choice. Leave stick whole. FREEZE sticks before dipping. Use whole egg and water. Will only need to go from flour, to egg, to SEASONED (again - to taste) Panko and then into oven for stated time. Freezing and seasoning makes all the difference! Invest in Panko for these. We like pizza or marinara (fancy name for non-meat Sp. sauce!) sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
we modified this slightly but give it 5 stars b/c it met our craving! we used store bought cheese sticks cut in half so that each piece is about 2 in long. we used 2 whole eggs instead of the egg whites we used bisquick in place of flour but i doubt this matters we crunched the corn flakes up quite a bit but they could be more crunched :) or food processed welet them set up for 30 minutes in fridge we did not experience the leaking issues as in the cheese did not spill out however they did flatten some but this is exactly how we had it in a fav restaurant so we were happy with it...we baked it at 425-450 and i think that made all the difference!!! we even could have cooked them longer to soften the cheese more....they were so crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These work great for me! Just double coat them and let them set up in the fridge for an hour and they will hold much better in the oven. Keep an eye on them and enjoy with salsa or marinara sauce. Love cheese sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I THINK THE MELTING ISSUE ID DUE TO THE TEMP AND BAKING TIME. YOU ARE HEATING THEM INDIRECTLY AND THE CHEESE HEATS UP BEFORE THE COATING CRISPS, I RECOMMEND USING THE BROILER TO "SET" THE COATING. MUCH LIKE FRYING DOES. THE GOAL IS REALLY JUST TO BROWN THE OUTSIDE. AND UPPING THE TEMP A LITTLE, I AM GOING TO TRY IT AND I'LL UPDATE YOU! IT HAS WORKED FOR OTHER RECIPES IN THE PAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax's Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
this was awesome!! despite all of the negative reviews i tried it anyway. i followed the recipe. and they were PERFECT!! i cook for a small school (we feed about 80 jr. high and high school students and 15 staff members) and they all raved about them. thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Cody, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I don't know if I will make these again, though I did like them. They flattened in the oven and the coating didn't stick well, or at all. I may make them again for myself, but not for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I so wanted these to work! Prepared as directed - i froze the sticks for 30 minutes as well, but all of the cheese oozed out. I guess cheese sticks were not made to be lightened. I will fry them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are really easy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love the breading for these cheese sticks. I used string cheese sticks and froze them for about 20 minutes after breading them. I also deep fried them instead of baking. Super tasty, if a little messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut the cheese into sticks half the size suggested and left the sticks to set in the fridge for half an hour. I experienced none of the leakage other reviews have mentioned and the cheese sticks were a big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States