Baked Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My family enjoyed these. I made them as written, using homemade mozzarella from goat milk. I appreciate having an alternative to the fried mozzarella sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Just like the other reviewers, the cheese all leaked out and the breading or crust never browned. It did suffice the craving but if you are really want to do these right, go for the fried version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Much better and easier than fried. I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes and I let the sticks set in the refrigerator instead of at room temperature; they came out perfect and melt-free. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Changed quite a bit though. Used Light String Cheese, bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, used one entire egg instead of egg whites, and added basil and thyme. Baked for about 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good! I used mozzarella sticks that were pre-made *aka STRING CHEESE* instead of a block of mozzarella. I cut those in half. I tossed the cut sticks in the flour and got a really good, thick coat. Then I submerged them in the egg mixture (I used 4 eggs in a small container) and then coated them in the cereal mixture. I made sure to repeat the last two steps... that seems key to getting an even coat. I baked them for 13 minutes, and that made the cheese perfect. Yes, it leaked out a little on the sides, but the ones I get from Schwan's do too. All in all, I enjoyed the flavor and process of making these. They tasted great and were pretty simple. The four star rating is because they're a little time intensive if you're going to do them right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
cheese everywhere, bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Super yummy! One thing: make sure you don't cook it on a cooling rack. I did this with a pan underneath thinking it would ensure crispiness on both side sides, but all it did was ensure the cheese melted through to the bottom. Still delish when we reunited 'shell' and cheese, but still :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Rochelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
The only issue I had was that they didnt quite stay shaped up. They got flat, BUT, they tasted amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I got this recipe to work, with some minor changes. First, I used mozzarella cheese sticks, the kind you snack on. I also used seasoned bread crumbs and whole egg. Here's the key to "oven-fried anything." Spray the tops of them with cooking spray!!! This will make the coating crisp up before they melt. Are they as good as what you get in a restaurant? No. Are they healthier and cheaper? You bet! This is a good substitute for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Didn't come out too well for me. kids loved it, though the cheese melted too soon on some of the sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States