Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made a glaze of orange rind, orange juice, turbinado sugar, and butter, bushed it on squash and broiled it. I also sprinkled with sea salt and freshly ground pepper before the glaze. Got lots of raves! I think a little cinnamon and nutmeg next time....Great recipe. Joy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe is perfect!Very easy to follow! I didn't even have to add any seasoning or anything to the squash after it was cooked, squash was perfectly tender and buttery, definitely using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is great. Along with the butter I add cinnamon and brown sugar after scooping the squash from the skin. My husband and I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I LOVED this recipe! I added a teaspoon of butter and mashed it but honestly I don't think the butter was needed. I roasted it for an hour at 425. I will be making this again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I wish to thank you for posting this most wonderful recipe. It was my introduction to Butternut Squash and what an excellent one it was. I can't do anything like I'm told and so, with this, I changed the recipe. I added Lime Juice and a dash of Cayenne Pepper. WONDERFUL! The Baking time though...I cranked my oven up to 400 and only cooked it for 40 minutes and it's done, done, done. This is one of those border vegetables which can be either sweet or savory. I'm thinking of some herb combinations. Would like to come up with a seafood to pair with it but, other than Tilapia (Sewer Salmon), I can't think of any...yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merréll O'Brian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have never cooked butternut squash before...I wanted to try something simple. I followed the recipe exactly. I only cooked half so I could try it and also because I used the other half in another recipe on this site for turkey chili with butternut squash (also delicious!) I thought this was a simple recipe and I will make again. Since I only cooked one half, that may be why it was done in 60 minutes. Definitely will make this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My mother used to fix it similarly, and is the method I prefer, even if making it for squash braided yeast bread. I can scoop it out and mash the squash for other uses. As for the commenter who rated this a one, I don't understand such a low rating when I take it that she didn't even try it yet. Just add an inch of water. Add a little more if the squash isn't done and if the water goes down. The purpose of the water is to gently steam the squash while it is baking. You end up with a very delicate side dish that really only needs a little butter, salt and pepper. Very versatile, it can be mashed, pureed for soups or breads, or eaten right out of the shells. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Simple delish and perfect. Just what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made the recipe exactly as directed. It was so simple and very delicious. I even roasted the squash seeds as well and ate them as an appetizer with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
How much water do you put in the pan? Am ready to try this. Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Camack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States