Baked Buffalo Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Hey everyone - this is my recipe, But a few things seem to be changed by Allrecipes since it was published. I do a few things differently. 1) Do not place the full amount of bread crumbs or egg substitute out at once. I start with small amounts and replenish as needed. It minimizes the amount of waste. 2) I also spray with cooking spray pretty generously. I don't leave them swimming in it, but if you use too light of a hand, you have a higher chance of the breading falling off. 3) You do have to REALLY spray the baking sheet to less breading sticks to it. I am very gentle when I turn them, but you will typically lose some breading. I don't tend to lose a lot though. 4) When they are done cooking, I put buffalo sauce in a bowl and literally coat them in it. This really gives them true wing flavor. That said, it also makes them pretty spicy. If you don't like as much heat, a dash works fine. I then return them to the over to bake for the 5 minutes indicated. Play with the recipe and see what works for you. I was just happy to have a non-fried alternative that had some crunch to it. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassel, California, USA
Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Followed directions “verbatim” and for the most part the family enjoyed the taste and texture of the chicken strips. However, I could not get the crispy texture to the coating without drying out the chicken. Also, my chicken strips got “nekid” a couple of times. Very embarrassing. I will look for alternative. To much an amateur for this receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
With the exception of using chicken tenders, I followed the recipe exactly. Even though I sprayed the pan, the breading stuck and when I flipped the tenders they came up naked. The chicken did not pick up the hot sauce flavoring at all. Overall, this was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried baking chicken strips and I just don't like them that way. I have a deep fryer and prefer to use that. Anyway...I don't bother w/buttermilk - the acid in the hot sauce thickens plain ol milk. I go half n half with amounts of milk & hot sauce. I use a regular egg mixed with a bit of milk. I also season up the panko with celery salt, garlic powder, fresh grated parm and a some cayenne pepper. I do leave the chicken to marinade overnight. With my changes these rock and you can quickly toss with a buffalo wing sauce if you really want to kick things up! Easier eating vs chicken wings (although I like those too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Made these last night for my chicken strip lover of a boyfriend. Didn't realize I had ran out of Frank's, so used Sriracha instead - a delicious alternative! 1 cup of buttermilk to 1/4 cup hot sauce marinated with 3 sliced chicken breasts produced very moist and flavorful chicken strips. They got a huge stamp of approval from the boyfriend, but as delicious as they were, we couldn't even finish them all. But not to worry, the boyfriend had the leftovers finished by 10am the next morning. I did find the breading a little heavy though. I don't usually use egg when I bread meats (which is quite frequently), which is perhaps the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Pretty good. Subbed Frank's sauce for regular cayanne and still turned out nice. Not exactly like a deep fried version but very crunchy with the panko. Didn't really miss the frying. Served with Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninga75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were quite yummy. There was a lot of waste with the buffalo sauce/buttermilk mixture as a previous reviewer mentioned. I even used an extra chicken breast (3 cut into strips) and there was still tons of excess. You could probably do 5-6 chicken breasts with this amount of marinade. I didn't find them quite spicy enough, so I dipped them in a ranch/buffalo sauce mixture which worked well. Maybe next time I might try cutting the buttermilk in half and using the same amount of buffalo sauce. Overall, great recipe and I will be making it again!! Thanks for sharing, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
for a baked chicken this was quite good. I used about 5 lbs of chicken tenders for the 2 c up buttermilk marinade. didn't have panko just used bread crumbs cuz this was a last minute decision to make. tasted great and was easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPIDERWIFE
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These taste really good...they're probably worth 5 stars if done correctly, but I didn't have buttermilk or Egg Beaters so I used plain milk and eggs. Also, I didn't pay close attention when reading the recipe and didn't dip in the panko BEFORE the egg, only after. And I didn't add the last splash of pepper sauce. We added to taste as we ate them. I will definitely try making this again...the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Used chicken tenders. They were great! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States