Baked Brie with Caramelized Pears, Shallots and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BRUNOSBETH
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is amazing! Served it as main appetizer at dinner party. My friend Michelle made it (can't take the credit) and used toasted walnuts and dates instead of pears & almonds. Also, we added 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and used brandy instead of white wine. Delicious! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SnackyCakes
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Thanks for the fab recipe, this was absolutely delicious! All the flavours complemented each other so well. My partner got sliced sourdough by mistake, but we still managed to make it work by gently squeezing it into a pan to hold the slices together. Otherwise, I made the recipe as posted and the four of us ate the whole thing in about 5 minutes!! Edit 04 Jun 07 - Last two times I made this, to serve a couple more people, I used two brie, side by side with a little gap in between them, still in the one loaf of bread. I doubled all the other ingredients too, so there was more pear topping to add to the extra cheesey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnackyCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe was enjoyed by all at my party last night. The only change I made was to use Hawaiian sweet bread, because I couldn't find a loaf of round sourdough at the store. I would recommend puttng some foil on top about 30 minutes in to the baking since the bread did get quite dark and crispy on the outside. It was still lovely, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This looks impressive and tastes divine! I made this at work so substituted the pear filling for half a jar of chutney - this made it a lot quicker to prepare. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I tried to do this with puff pastry, rather than bread and the Brie “exploded” and melted all over the cookie sheet. So then, I remade the pear mixture and just heated a new wheel of brie and spooned the pear over top – it was really good! Also, I used dried thyme instead of fresh – a little less than 1/4 tsp. I will try this with the bread very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I wrote the review on 1/12/09. If you use the puff pastry idea, it works best to bake in a Pyrex pie plate as one reviewer noted, it may "explode" on a baking sheet. Just let it cool for say 15 minutes before transferring to you serving plate and it will be fine. Still one of our favorite appetizers! Bon Appetit! 944TURBO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was OK. It did not knock my socks off. Not sure why...it had all the ingredients to be a wonderful appetizer. I have to say that eating the bread that the cheese is baked in is far better than any crackers. THe sourdough bread toasted and was crunchy and good. Maybe I should have used a larger round so I would have had more toasted bread to enjoy it with! Oh and baking 45 minutes is way tooo long. I did 20 and that was plenty. Otherwise it is very runny, Had to let it set a bit before we ate it. I will still search for more exciting appetizers in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is like heaven it's so good!!! Thank you for posting this fabulous recipe echomoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Made this for a Wine and Cheese night and everyone loved it!! It was gone pretty quickly, I barely got a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
AWESOME RECIPE!!! This was soooo YUMMY. Bought it to a friend's house and it was GONE in no time. Did not make any changes to the main ingredients, but I did use a puff pastry instead of the bread. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States