Baked Brie with Caramelized Pears, Shallots and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a lot of work to end up being just ok. I felt that the brie and filling were overwhelmed by the bread. The ratio was off; I would suggest using the puff pastry instead. We couldn't figure out how to eat it, so we just sliced it - extra bread/crackers definitely weren't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The pears were too sweet and I think it would have been the case even if less sugar was added. The suggestion given to me was maybe try it with something else, even canned potatoes, or put the pears with something else. I"ll pass on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Love this recipe! Served it at the holidays and it was a huge hit. It is very mild and creamy. It appealed to everyone at the party from kids to adults. I made it slightly sweeter by increasing the brown sugar to 1 tablespoon, and added some dried cranberries to give it a more festive look. I cut the top rind off of the brie to remove some of the musty flavor that can sometimes be present. Finally I reduced the baking time to about 25 minutes. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I m not a big fan of thyme and still really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was pretty good. Maybe I'm not a huge fan of thyme as a spice, that's all. The bread and brie were delicious and caramelized shallots and pears are always tasty. (If you don't have shallots, you can totally use a regular spanish onion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I really liked this recipe. But I made some changes: I increased the amount of thyme and didn't put it in the bread. It turned out delicious and saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is amazing! I needed a bigger bread bowl and used a 16 oz size to fit all the melty brie and pears. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
AWESOME RECIPE!!! This was soooo YUMMY. Bought it to a friend's house and it was GONE in no time. Did not make any changes to the main ingredients, but I did use a puff pastry instead of the bread. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was good, but not as good as I thought it would be. I wrapped the brie and the filling in puff pastry. With the thyme and the pear flavors, tastes very much like an apple stuffing at Thanksgiving. I did find that the flavors got a little muddled. Have to say, the baked brie with rosemary and cherries is by far the best baked brie on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States