Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
All I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time and followed the directions exactly. I was mildly pleased. If I make again I will chop onions and apples. Slices were to large and overwhelmed everything else. I would only prepare 1/2 an onion and omit the garlic. (atleast in this form) I am a garlic lover but this was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made two different baked brie recipes and found that combining the two resulted in fireworks! I caramelized onions with butter, thyme, white wine and sugar. DELICIOUS! Next, I cut the brie wheel in half length-wise and put the caramelized onions in between. I put the two halves back together and then wrapped in puff pastry. I messed up by not making sure the puff pastry was sealed as the brie leaked out. Pinch those sides tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe. I've made it with and without the puff pastry--delicious either way. (When I didn't have pastry, I scored the top of the brie to allow the toppings to seep into the cheese). I've also added slivered toasted almonds before. Beautiful combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Followed recipe. While the taste was good, the concept unique among baked bries but we found it to be on the dry side. It presented well. Really seemed to need a complimentary light tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The caramelized onions, baked garlic, baked brie and apple combination was amazing! I didn't have puff pastry, so I hollowed out a loaf of cheese bread and put everything inside: brie cut in half horizontally made the bottom layer, then caramalized onions cooked with tart homemade applesauce (didn't have any tart apples), baked garlic cloves, then covered with the top crust of the bread. Baked about 25 minutes. It was absolutely delicious and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was so good!! I added raisin too and got rave reviews. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I was very surprised by how yummy this was. I put minced garlic in with the onions instead of having garlic on top. A big hit with the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Made this for a Christmas appetizer and everyone loved it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PocketCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Great recipe! The caramelized onion/apple mixture was tasty but I added salt and pepper to make it perfect. I added the garlic to the onion mixture and use phyllo dough because that was all I had. Make sure to use a flavorful apple--a tastless apple will add nothing to flavor while a really tasty apple will enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States