Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was a huge hit with guests. I didn't have puff pastry but the crescent rolls as some one else suggested work wonderfully. People seemed pleasantly surprised by the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
very flavorful i made little ones so you didn't have to cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This turned out surprisingly delicious. This was a trial run for Xmas. I did just minor changes...chopped the onions, omitted the apples and I added garlic to the onions (next time I will decrease the butter...too much, imo). I also added some salt, pepper, brown sugar and honey to the onion mixture. I served with sliced apples and crackers. Everyone loved! I will be doing a savory one and a sweeter version for Xmas. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This turned out amazing!! I brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! It was gobbled up in minutes. I will make this again and again. I used croissant dough instead of puff pastry because that what I had and it still turned out great. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnne Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My husband thought apples and onions sounded lame. I said tough and so glad I did! He and the rest of the family have requested I make again...Soooo GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this recipe; it's fun, easy and delicious! I've made it for several parties and have never had any leftover. After the first couple of times, I decided that a whole onion was too big and have since been making it with a shallot instead. It's a great substitute if you have guests who aren't crazy about onion. I second the earlier comment about making sure you give the puff pastry enough time to thaw, though; I ripped it while trying to unfold it the first time, and butter oozed out everywhere. But even that was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Delicious!! Didn't have time to add the roasted garlic, but otherwise did the recipe as is. Fantastic! and oh so easy. My only recommendation: w/ the puff pastry, while thawing get it unfolded. If you wait until fully thawed it is too sticky to unfold. Also, I got the brie wheel from Sams Club so it was double the size, i think just thicker and it worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
OMG! too delicious. that's all I have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Oh My.. This is SOOO GOOD! Here is what I did to make it "my own" Roast the garlic and serve NEXT to the brie. I carmalized the onion and apple and once it was done I removed the skillet from the heat and sprinkled with brown sugar. Just let it sit there and melt in. I then added some fresh rosemary just a little. place the onion/apple mix in the center of the dough and place the brie ontop of that. fold and pinch. I place seam side down and brushed with cream or butter. bake and let it rest... YUMM7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum! I didn't have any apples on hand, so I omitted them. The creamy savory brie and the sweet carmelized onions were a perfect complement to each other. I think that the apples would have taken away from the dish by adding too many flavors. I added a pinch of sugar to the onions while they were cooking and cooked them for a good 40 minutes. There is a good article on this site detailing how to caramelize onions. Also added some minced garlic straight to the onions. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States