Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This is just heavenly. I don't use the almonds, and I spoon plenty of apricot preserves over the brie before wrapping and I think this adds the extra kick it needs. Also, for those of you willing to try, this recipie works well with phyllo dough. Just brush melted butter over top of brie, then add preserves, and wrap in 4 sheets of phyllo that have also been brushed with butter. Trim excess dough and freeze. This is very important and should also be done with the puff pastry version. If you don't freeze, the cheese is completely liquid by the time the dough is done, and so this way they both come out perfect. Bake according to package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This is such a great basic recipe for baked brie. There are some other recipes on this site, but this is the most basic. I've added preserves, dried fruits, and different toasted nuts... all work great. I love brie but the rind always bugged... so I remove it. I know there are some cheese connaisseurs out there who think different. P.S. If your pastry comes out soggy or greasy, you need to up your oven temp to 400 because it means your pastry is melting and not "puffing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
It's essential that you completely enclose the brie in the pastry dough! Mine must have had a small crack or hole...because when it came out of the oven..all of the brie and almonds had made this lovely crunchy mass next to the puff pastry mound and had left barely anything in the inside of the pastry. So be sure to close up the holes. It all tasted really good though...regardless of its fragmented presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This recipe is fabulous!!! I filled mine with apricot preserves along with the almonds and brushed with egg whites as suggested! Thank you so much to Veronika for the tip on freezing before cooking! The pastry came out wonderfully cooked and the cheese was perfect! This was THE hit of our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Easy, I used refridgerated crescent rolls instead of puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is fantastic as a Christmas appetizer. I have made this four times already this month! It is fabulous. I fill the centre with seedless raspberry jam (I put the jam through a sieve) and fresh rasberries. Once the brie is enveloped with the pastry I brush it with a beaten egg before baking. I also put fresh raspberries on top and serve the whole thing alongside water crackers. YUM. At least a dozen people have already asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This recipe was wonderful with a couple modifications. I mixed the almonds with an apricot/crushed pineapple sauce I made. Then I added a teaspoon of dijon mustard to the sauce. I used reviewer Veronika's suggestion about freezing it before baking. WOW! It came out looking and tasting so wonderful.Thanks idea Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Recipe requests started flowing after the first bite!! I used a 14 oz. round of brie, added 1/2 cup pesto and toasted the almonds. The pastry fit perfectly with the larger round of brie. It was impressive in both presentation and flavor. This is a keeper. It looks pretty in a fluted style tart dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Awesome recipe! I used seedless raspberry preserves and toasted slivered almonds, garnishing with fresh raspberries. It was wonderful and everyone raved about it. The only thing I would do differently is reduce the amount of puff pastry as I wrap it. I brushed it with butter, but I think the suggestion to use egg white might work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Delicious! I was serving this for a Christmas dinner appetizer and wanted it to look festive. When I sliced the wheel I spread a generous amount of raspberry preserves and then followed the rest of the recipe. I thought I was taking a chance, but it paid off - I got rave reviews and the entire wheel was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States