Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I agree that it is missing something. I've tried it with several different types of preserves and all were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Tastes great but I used a couple of the other suggestions. A heaping layer of apricot jam and a generous portion of sliced almonds both in the center and on top of the brie. When using the puff pastry dough, I found using two cans worked perfectly. Lay them out and them press the two sides together to make a larger sheet. After wrapping the dough around the brie, I wrapped the brie very tightly in plastic wrap and then froze it for about 3-4 hours. It turned out perfectly! When baking, make sure there are no holes in the pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This a good basic recipe that you can elaborate as you wish. I had homemade Peach Amaretto Pecan preserves, so I cut the brie in half horizontally and put that in the middle and also on top and added toasted pecans before wrapping it in the puff pastry. A WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Good start for a recipe. I usually add brown sugar and cranberries to the almonds and dust the puff pastry with butter and egg white as previously recommended. Turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Didn't push egg white on pastry but will try that next time. I froze the brie + pastry combination and then baked it at 400degreeC for 15min. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a go-to recipe for me whenever I am asked to bring something to a party. Its fun to try different variations of filling, I like to use honey and pecans, jam, or chopped apples. Make sure that you seal the seams of the puff pastry very well or cheese will break though while baking and you'll have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I brought this to a memorial day party and everyone loved it! So yummy, a very sweet and savory appetizer. I highly recommend spreading about 2 Tbsp. of apricot preserves and sprinkling almonds on the brie prior to wrapping it with the crescent rolls. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I found myself asking why do this when you can buy it already covered in pastry and just heat it up? It didn't taste any better - I wasn't impressed. Gave it three stars b/c I guess not everyone has pastry covered brie ready in their local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was a big hit at my parent's 55th anniversary party. For some reason my pastry didn't brown as nice as I would have liked, but I think that is the fault of the very old oven I had to use. I sliced the brie in half and put triple fruit jam in between and served it with crackers, anjou pears and granny smith apples. Everyone complimented me on the elegant appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I recommend baking the brie with 1/4 cup brown sugar and a handful of walnuts. Also, to make presentation a little more appealing, brush the puff pastry with a beaten egg to add shine. Best if served fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States