Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Oh so good! I cut my Brie cheese in half and put a couple tablespoons of pesto in the middle of it before wrapping it up and baking it. It did need to be cooked a little longer than stated but it was a big hit! Also, make sure to serve it hot. It really loses it's wow after it cools off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I used a 19.6 oz wheel that I cut in half, so my end product looked like a calzone, but it still taste great! I added apricot preserves in addition to the toasted almonds in the middle of the brie. I also stuck the brie with preserves and almonds in the freezer for about 20 min before wrapping it up in the puff pastry and baking. I sealed the edges with egg white and brushed a little egg white on top as well. Baked it at 350 for 15 min in my toaster oven and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I agree that it is missing something. I've tried it with several different types of preserves and all were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Tastes great but I used a couple of the other suggestions. A heaping layer of apricot jam and a generous portion of sliced almonds both in the center and on top of the brie. When using the puff pastry dough, I found using two cans worked perfectly. Lay them out and them press the two sides together to make a larger sheet. After wrapping the dough around the brie, I wrapped the brie very tightly in plastic wrap and then froze it for about 3-4 hours. It turned out perfectly! When baking, make sure there are no holes in the pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This a good basic recipe that you can elaborate as you wish. I had homemade Peach Amaretto Pecan preserves, so I cut the brie in half horizontally and put that in the middle and also on top and added toasted pecans before wrapping it in the puff pastry. A WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Good start for a recipe. I usually add brown sugar and cranberries to the almonds and dust the puff pastry with butter and egg white as previously recommended. Turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Didn't push egg white on pastry but will try that next time. I froze the brie + pastry combination and then baked it at 400degreeC for 15min. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is a go-to recipe for me whenever I am asked to bring something to a party. Its fun to try different variations of filling, I like to use honey and pecans, jam, or chopped apples. Make sure that you seal the seams of the puff pastry very well or cheese will break though while baking and you'll have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I brought this to a memorial day party and everyone loved it! So yummy, a very sweet and savory appetizer. I highly recommend spreading about 2 Tbsp. of apricot preserves and sprinkling almonds on the brie prior to wrapping it with the crescent rolls. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I found myself asking why do this when you can buy it already covered in pastry and just heat it up? It didn't taste any better - I wasn't impressed. Gave it three stars b/c I guess not everyone has pastry covered brie ready in their local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States