Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good recipe: a variation that I Made was use raspberry jam, dried cranberries, and walnuts. Cut off sides of rind. Wrap with homemade pie dough (set in center of dough round and gather at top to stop leakage, chill for at least one hour, bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 bake in a fluted tart dish then you can serve it in that... let rest 5 minutes before serving with crackers and fresh fruit slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Love this recipe and make it all the time. Friends and family swoon. However, I choose to omit the almonds. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is excellent but you definitely need to add a preserve of some kind, I did seedless raspberry without almonds because I just don't like nuts in my food. I also made sure the edges were sealed and it didn't leak and did the egg wash over the top with some cut out shapes, it looked and tasted marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Delicious, especially if you love the rich, creamy flavor that brie has. I followed this recipe except added a layer of apricot preserves on top before wrapping. It was easy to make, and I didn't pay too much attention to looks, but I wish I had. You could really make this a show-stopper appetizer if you took the time to mold it just right. Next time I'll cut the mold or wax (or whatever that outter stuff is on the brie) OFF then put it in. I never like that flavor anyway and it definitely shined through after baking. Just a tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
A great starter for any meal. I have never had anyone not ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I followed someone else's advice and spread apricot preserves between the two layers: DELICIOUS! It served well with pears, apples, and French bread slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I mixed kahlua, brown sugar and chopped pecans instead of the preserves and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was such a hit. What a lovely presentation. I had some left over pastry puff dough and used a cookie cutter to add to the a star on top. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I've made this baked brie twice now - and it's been a big hit both times. This recipe is super easy too. I've used puff pastry sheets, thawed them out and rolled them out with a rolling pin. I find the sheets that I use to be a tad small for the baked brie rounds that I buy. Also, I've cut the brie round in half as advised in the recipe and used apricot jam and almonds in the middle. Minor tip - spread the jam first then add the almonds. One of those things I didn't think through the first time. I also tied up the loose ends with a piece of twine, that way it kept its shape while baking. All in all, a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
used pillsbury puff pastry, 1 sheet rolled out. used brie from costco. sliced in half added peach jam (didn't have apricot) and sliced almonds. cut off the rind of the brie, wrapped it up. with extra pasty cut out leaf for top. cook on a pan with sides because it leaks a little. very good, thanksgiving 08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States