Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It's a total crowd pleaser!! I often replace the nuts with apple butter, apricot preserves, or mulled strawberries, depending on what's in season. Definitely cut the top square down just enough so it covers the cheese but doesn't overlap much-it keeps it from getting soggy! Serve warm ASAP :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
WOW!! That's what EVERYONE said. WOW! I followed the advice of VERONIKA S and added apricot preserves and brushed the dough with butter before freezing. We wound up having to bake it for around 30 minutes before it was warm enough inside, but it was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this on Christmas day and it was so good my son asked me to make it again for New Years. I added red current jelly to the top before covering. It was a nice compliment to the cheese because it was not sweet. To seal I brought the four corners up and together. I tucked the dough between the corners up and in and then gave it a gently twist to seal, then spread the top back to open. It was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for a New Year's Eve feast. The only thing I did different was put a couple of tablespoons pear preserves on top of the brie. It was so good! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make this all the time, I add preserves on the top of the Brie and use a pastry brush to spread honey over the inside of the puff pastry. There is never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I add chopped walnuts and raspberry jam over the brie. I then brush egg (beaten) over the pastry. People rave when I bring this to parties and people who have experienced it request that I bring it! It is SO EASY and have made it 3 times this December due to people's requests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I'm so hooked on this. I've made it several times. Change the fruit every time, but always remove the rind. I've used puff pastry and pie crust. Prefer the pastry. Always use the egg wash to hold it together. I've fiddled with the temp and time just a bit to accomadate my finicky oven. Easy to do, just watch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. Once I wrap the dough around it, I seal the seam by brushing it with a whipped egg and laying it seam side down to ensure a tight seal. Then I brush the top with the egg. I've tried it with rasperry preserves (in addition to toasted sliced almonds), but the second time I used fig preserves and it was even better! There are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is amazing. I don't cut the brie in half to add nuts, I just leave it whole and wrap the pastry around it. Also, I use a beaten egg to seal the pastry and put it in the freezer for a couple of hours. However, if you stick it in the freezer, it will need more time in the oven. I had mine in for 40 min. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Perfect. I shaved off some of the rind, cut the brie in half, put apricot preserves in middle )like a brie/apricot sandwhich), warpped puff pastry around brie, trimmed extra pastry, used egg white wash all over pastry. Wrapped in plastic wrap and froze for 2 hours. Baked at 425 for 25 mins. Served with crackers, pears, apples, and bread. Made two of them for 12 people and there wasnt a drop left. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States