Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This is just heavenly. I don't use the almonds, and I spoon plenty of apricot preserves over the brie before wrapping and I think this adds the extra kick it needs. Also, for those of you willing to try, this recipie works well with phyllo dough. Just brush melted butter over top of brie, then add preserves, and wrap in 4 sheets of phyllo that have also been brushed with butter. Trim excess dough and freeze. This is very important and should also be done with the puff pastry version. If you don't freeze, the cheese is completely liquid by the time the dough is done, and so this way they both come out perfect. Bake according to package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Instead of almonds, I spread raspberry jam and fresh raspberries in the middle of the brie. After it was all baked, I garnished it with more fresh raspberries. Elegant and a HUGE hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I made this to take on our last boat outing, and everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I made this for a barbq. It was such a hit and the easiest thing ive ever done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I added curry powder on top of the brie (before wrapping) - a really nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I served this with the almonds as well as fresh raspberries inside of the pasrty. It tasted wonderful and the presentation was elegant! I will serve this dish again! Next time I plan to replace the raspberries with tart green apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Fast, easy and elegant appetizer. Delicious and fairly inexpensive. Easy recipe to build on and add your own touches like sun dried tomatoes, pesto, walnuts or those new flavored almonds. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
What an easy and impressive appetizer -- I always get compliments whenever I make this recipe and ususally end up having to copy the recipe out for someone. I substitute jam (whatever kind is open in the fridge) for the almonds. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I have made this twice now and really enjoyed it both times. I added fresh raspberries along with the almonds and it made it even more yummy. Be sure to brush butter on the dough before baking if you want a nice golden color - I forgot once and it was not as pretty (although it still tasted fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is fantastic as a Christmas appetizer. I have made this four times already this month! It is fabulous. I fill the centre with seedless raspberry jam (I put the jam through a sieve) and fresh rasberries. Once the brie is enveloped with the pastry I brush it with a beaten egg before baking. I also put fresh raspberries on top and serve the whole thing alongside water crackers. YUM. At least a dozen people have already asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States