Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by krengel
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Just made this tonight and I am new at "cooking" and I really enjoyed it and was impressed with myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krengel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I disagree with the cooking temp on this recipe. After baking at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, my puff pastry still looked raw. I needed to increase the temperature to 475 to roast potatoes, so I moved the brie to the top rack, and after 5 minutes it was perfect, nice and golden brown. Someone had suggested freezing the brie before baking, which I did. for about 20-30 minutes. As we were eating it, I noticed the center was too thick/stiff... it wasn't nice and oozy like the outer parts of the brie were. Maybe putting it in the fridge before baking would have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Remember to thaw your puff pastry before you use it! I tried thawing it in the microwave and it ended up messy, but still tasted delicious. I added seedless raspberry preserves and then the almonds. I also brushed an egg white over the puff pastry before I cooked it-just don't use all of it if you don't need it-it will end up tasting slightly egg-y! otherwise, a delicious recipe that everyone was raving about :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I got rave reviews from my guests. I used peach preserves. I think you could use just about anything and it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great for dinner parties, and everyone loves it. If you can't find puff pastry at the store, pilsbury crescent roll pastry can be used. Halve it and roll it out so that you can't see any of the speration marks. Place the brie onto one half, then place the other half of the pastry on top and seal together. Brush with egg to give it a nice finish. Instead of almonds, try using differnets jams to suit the season i.e cranberry for winter, or marmalade. Apple and pear slices work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made a very similar one like this a couple days ago all I used id refridgerated dinner rolls and an 8oz Brie. Very Good I thought, but I'd recommend topping it off with blueberry jam very delicious too. The rest of my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingleside, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this without the almonds and with some jam in the middle, and YUM! was it a hit. I served it with butter crackers and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I used some blueberry&raspberry preserve, and nuts, and had the cutest little bries... they were pretty, if a little grasy, with melted cheese and all. Quite unusual but nobody raved about it, I must say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this last night for a wine tasting party but I did add the apricot jam and it was sooooo good. As someone else said I made it all up ahead of time and froze it for 2 hours and then baked for 35 min. and let it sit for 45 min, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was amazing! I also added some jam on top of the Brie and it made it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States