Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Excellent recipe...just a tip, I brush the pastry with beaten egg wherever I fold it over to seal it, as well as over the top, keeps the cheese inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I really wanted to like this, but the puff pastry never seemed to get crisp & brown, even when I left it in the oven an additional 5 minutes. I enclosed the wheel of brie in the puff pastry - maybe I should have just wrapped the pastry around the sides of the brie? I was very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Excellent!! I made this on New Year's and my guests ate it up so fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This is such a great basic recipe for baked brie. There are some other recipes on this site, but this is the most basic. I've added preserves, dried fruits, and different toasted nuts... all work great. I love brie but the rind always bugged... so I remove it. I know there are some cheese connaisseurs out there who think different. P.S. If your pastry comes out soggy or greasy, you need to up your oven temp to 400 because it means your pastry is melting and not "puffing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Sorry, I did not like this recipe. Other reviewers loved it, so maybe I didn't do something right. I thought the rind became somewhat bitter, and the brie was basically runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was quite tasty. I served it with a reduction of raspberry lambic and pecans and it was a hit. Unfortunately, some of the cheese ran out of the side for some reason and made it look a bit messy but it was a good dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
i love this, using dried cranberries rather than the almonds. always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Rather then use the almonds, I went for olive oil and basil. I made it for a wine tasting party and it got RAVE reviews. One person even called and wanted the recipe. I, personally thought it was good but not great. Of course, any cheese goes good with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I served this last night and it was gone in about 5 minutes. I should have made two! The only thing I did different was to brown the almonds in a little butter before placing them in the brie. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was tasty - I used raspberry jam as well as almonds. I found that it could have used more baking time. The puff pastry was a little doughy. Next time I will watch and make sure it gets crispy and golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States