Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Delicious!! Just did it for Christmas eve and everyone loved it. I used ready to bake crescents and used apricot preserves instead of almonds. I also froze it before baking. It came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I couldn't decide between almonds and raspberry preserves... so I did one of each. They were both excellent. I would say the egg wash is a requirement versus an option, it nicely seals the phyllo dough and prevents "bursts". It is the cooking trifecta: really easy, tastes great, beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It came out beautifully golden! I used egg whites on the top and instead of just having crackers on the side i found it was amazing with berries, grapes, bread, powdered sugar and a cranberry sauce on the side. This dish was great for dipping in a party scenario. To be served as an appetizer i used pesto, olive oil, pine nuts, basil and black pepper. It is always a hit, and like all cheese it tastes great with a large glass of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I tried this out on some friends last night and we LOVED it! I spread raspberry preserves in the middle, brushed it with egg whites and sprinkled sugar on top to make it look pretty. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is a great way to serve Brie but you definately need to brush the puff pastry with an egg wash or else it just is too dry. I have tried this several times and the more egg wash I used, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Love this...but make sure to wait long enough to cut into, I cut it too soon and it got all over the plate and the table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Simply the best way to serve Brie. I would cook it at 400 next time. I did half with almonds and half with current jam. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Excellent recipe...just a tip, I brush the pastry with beaten egg wherever I fold it over to seal it, as well as over the top, keeps the cheese inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I really wanted to like this, but the puff pastry never seemed to get crisp & brown, even when I left it in the oven an additional 5 minutes. I enclosed the wheel of brie in the puff pastry - maybe I should have just wrapped the pastry around the sides of the brie? I was very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Excellent!! I made this on New Year's and my guests ate it up so fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States