Baked Brie in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I made this for a dinner party, and it was a BIG HIT! Mine did not look half as nice as the pic ( I just can't work with that phyllo!) but it was still a WINNER. Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is a good base recipe- take note of suggestions for using the egg whites to seal the pastry. This is a MUST and not an option or you will have a messy presentation. Feel free to add preserves (I tried raspberry) or different nuts (pecans were yummy).You could go with something completely different (I added pesto to another and sprinkled with pine nuts). The key to this recipe is to make it your own by adding what you like and experimenting with new tastes. Remember to serve with a good red wine and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Delicious!! Just did it for Christmas eve and everyone loved it. I used ready to bake crescents and used apricot preserves instead of almonds. I also froze it before baking. It came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I couldn't decide between almonds and raspberry preserves... so I did one of each. They were both excellent. I would say the egg wash is a requirement versus an option, it nicely seals the phyllo dough and prevents "bursts". It is the cooking trifecta: really easy, tastes great, beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
It came out beautifully golden! I used egg whites on the top and instead of just having crackers on the side i found it was amazing with berries, grapes, bread, powdered sugar and a cranberry sauce on the side. This dish was great for dipping in a party scenario. To be served as an appetizer i used pesto, olive oil, pine nuts, basil and black pepper. It is always a hit, and like all cheese it tastes great with a large glass of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I tried this out on some friends last night and we LOVED it! I spread raspberry preserves in the middle, brushed it with egg whites and sprinkled sugar on top to make it look pretty. It was wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is a great way to serve Brie but you definately need to brush the puff pastry with an egg wash or else it just is too dry. I have tried this several times and the more egg wash I used, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Love this...but make sure to wait long enough to cut into, I cut it too soon and it got all over the plate and the table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Simply the best way to serve Brie. I would cook it at 400 next time. I did half with almonds and half with current jam. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Excellent recipe...just a tip, I brush the pastry with beaten egg wherever I fold it over to seal it, as well as over the top, keeps the cheese inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States