Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
ok, so I had no business even making this dish, as I had no tomatoes, potatoes or tapioca..but I really wanted it anyway. So I played with it a little. I used cornstarch and cold water in place of tapioca (thanks to suggestions of others). I used 3 tbsp sundried tomato paste (all I had) and 1 cup of red wine. I doubled the bread, used beef stock instead of bouillion & water (also doubled) saute'd the vegies, adding garlic, and lastly added fresh thyme from my garden. It was delicious. (even though I DID miss the potatoes) So THANKS Diane for the inspiration and a great recipe. Next time I'll have all the ingredients! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
If I could rate this recipe with 10 stars I would! It was awesome! I've never baked a stew before but I think from now on, it's how I'm going to make it. My husband who is a very good cook said he'd never tasted better. I usually don't rate recipes I make changes to as I usually make recipes as is if I'm going to rate or review them, as it's not fair to the person who submitted the recipe. But I didn't have all the stuff to make this so I had no choice. With that said, here are the changes I had to make. I added stewed tomatoes in place of diced. Beef broth for the bullion/water and I sauted the onions with the beef and used some of the broth to deglaze the pan. I didn't have any tapioca so I added corn starch along with some more beef broth at the end. But I do think it's the overall process of baking this stew that makes it so good. The meat was tender without being mushy....the carrots and potatoes were not mushy either. THANK YOU Diane for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rugby, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used 3TB cornstarch and just dissoved it in the broth added another cup since it all looked dry (didn't have bullion). I added fresh sliced mushrooms and garlic. Let me tell you! It smelled incredible baking although it looked a bit suspicious at first. My husband is completely spoiled and always has a suggestion on how I could have made it better or just be a food critic. He ate 2/3 in one sitting. Left me a bowl. So satisfying and hearty. Delicious! You cannot go wrong here people. The beef was ever so tender. Needless to say I shined...for once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was super easy and really tasty! A nice change to the way I have made beef stew in the past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
It was an excellent recipe.Before browning, I coated the meat with flour and seasoned with salt, pepper and onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
followed recipe to a T. pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is fabulous! I used 2 cans of beef broth and 4 T. cornstarch instead of water, beef granules, and tapioca. I also decreased the salt to 1 tsp. and omitted the bread. The flavor was wonderful! My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mommyisblessed
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would give this 10 stars if possible. This was good for a basic stew. Baked was something absolutely new to me. First off, when I make it again, and I will be making it again, I think I may leave out the cornstarch/water that I used instead of tapioca and add an extra can of Beef broth (used in place of beef granules) My fiance and I thought it was a bit too thick. I placed flour, salt, pepper, garlic salt, and tony's seasoning in a ziplock bag and shook it up with the meat before browing. The flour on the meat with do enough as far as thicking it out. Also I didnt use any celery (didnt have any) and added mushrooms and green beans. followed cooking directions to a T. Overall was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyisblessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The best beef stew! I always had trouble with getting my stew to the right consistency. It usually was too watery! This was perfect! I coated my beef with flour then browned it on the stove. I then added a can of beef broth to the pot and scraped up all the drippings. I poured this into an oven bag and skipped the water, didn't add the sugar or the granules. I did add the bread and it came out perfect! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have tapioca or cornstarch on hand, so I used a flour paste instead. I also kept the bread out, and added other vegetables - green bell pepper, whole mushrooms (quartered). It was absolutely delicious! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States