Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Sounds pretty simple and easy to make. Too bad, its past dinner time already! will try making this tomorrow... http://effortlessrecipes.blogspot.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Terrific! everyone loved. my only substitution was beef stock for the water and added less salt. will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I dont normally care for beef stew.. but wanted something different tonight and I must say OMG this is was great!! I will for sure make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My husband said this was the best stew I have ever made! I have to agree. I made some minor changes based on other reviews and it was great. To me a sign of a good recipe is one that can be customized to your tastes and still be awesome. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. Try these modifications: Take 1/2 cup flour & add black pepper, steak seasoning, garlic powder. Mix with cubed steak & brown in a skillet. Remove from pan. Add to the pan the tomatoes,water,bouillon,sugar, & tapioca & bring to a boil. I added more beef broth & then a can of cream of mushroom soup. Then mix with veggies & meat & bake. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Awesome! We used tomatoes with green chilies to give the stew a subtle kick. Had to add quite a bit of liquid and cook time was more like 4 hours. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Super good! The beauty of this dish is you don't have to stand over the stove stirring to ensure that it doesn't stick. The leftovers are too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I must concur that this Baked Beef Stew is the ABSOLUTE BEST by far!!! The only things I changed was the beef bouillon to beef broth & corn starch in place of the tapioca mix. This recipe is a winner for the entire family...Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Delicious! As others suggested, I used cornstarch & water in place of tapioca. I also left out the celery and bread, and added garlic and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Atherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I took the advice of others & made a few changes. First I dredged my beef in a flour/salt/pepper mixture, then I browned it in a Dutch oven in 1/4 c. peanut oil. I set the meat aside, then added 1 c. water & 1 tbsp. beef base to the drippings in the Dutch oven & deglazed it. Then I added my onions, & cooked them down for ~15 minutes along w/ half a packet of Lipton's Onion Soup mix. Then I put in the rest of my ingredients: can of tomatoes, 5 golden potatoes, 4 stalks of celery, 3 cut up carrots, my beef bits, & a lot more water, plus cornstarch in COLD water once my 'soup' got hot. I'm not sure how much water--just keep adding it & making sure ALL your ingredients are sunk in the water throughout the cooking process! Things will cook down & you will be able to quit adding more water at some point, but don't be stingy with it. I did not use tapioca (though I would have if I had some) & I would never put bread in it. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced, & would add more in the future; I also added a lot of black pepper & would add more of that, too, in the future. I thought this had a great flavor, reminiscent of my mom's, though I think in the future I will have to also add some tomato paste to make it even more like my mom's. If you find it too salty, the problem likely lies in the bouillon, beef broth, soup base, Lipton's mix, and V-8 you're using--all these things contribute a LOT of salt, so keep that in mind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States