Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used this recipe and added some majoram, rosemaryand thyme(1/8tsp. each) I also started it with 3 slices of bacon and crumbled them in. It was the best stew i think I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is my favorite beef stew recipe. The only thing I change is I substitute the water with a can of beef broth and I only cook it for 1 1/2 hours. I prefer this method over cooking in the crock pot. Thanks for the great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My husband loved this recipe and my kids cleaned their bowls. We'll definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
added plain flour instead of tapioca, and dried herbs for seasoning. Wonderfully tender, lovely gravy. Good substitute for when you don't own a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mareesa Cunneen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I used cornstarch instead of tapicoa & added fresh ingrdients....Have made this twice and everyone one loves it. I added greek seasoning to flour then coated 1 3/4 lb of stew beef and browned it in olive oil then removed added to pan chopped onion & 2 garlic cloves chopped, baby carrotts, hearts of celery, fresh green beans, corn (off 2 ears), 1lb mushrooms, soften all added fresh oregano, thyme, rosemary add beef back to veggies & 2 bay leaves. Add 1 32oz minus 1/4 cup beef stock, 2 fresh tomatoes, sea salt , grd pepper stir in 3tbs cornstarch & 1/4 cup of remaining beef stock mix put lid on & place in oven @ 250 5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love this recipe because it is perfect for those days when you get a late start and can't use the crock pot. Add as much salt as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazing - everyone took seconds! I dredged the meat in flour as suggested and also used cornstarch instead of tapioca. Instead of heating up the oven, I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for about 6 1/2 hours. This was delicious and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
ok, this is a tough one. What I ended up with tasted GREAT, but I modified it so much it ended up being entirely different. I like reading the modifications others post in their reviews so here is my contribution: I also used cornstarch instead of tapioca and only a dash or two of sugar. I used low-sodium beef broth in place of water and boullion. I coated meat with flour salt and pepper mixture and pan seared first. I did not add bread at all. I also added much more salt and pepper and tomato paste in the end because it was a little on the bland side. Oh and I put in a little minced garlic-you can NEVER go wrong with garlic in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Bottom line: great recipe...but, I would omit the salt altogether because it's ungodly for my taste! Otherwise, we will definitely be enjoying this recipe for a long time...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
So good! I also coated the meet in flour & seasoning before browning it. The only problem I had with the recipe was that there wasn't enough liquid. I don't know what I did wrong, but the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States