Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used this recipe and added some majoram, rosemaryand thyme(1/8tsp. each) I also started it with 3 slices of bacon and crumbled them in. It was the best stew i think I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is my favorite beef stew recipe. The only thing I change is I substitute the water with a can of beef broth and I only cook it for 1 1/2 hours. I prefer this method over cooking in the crock pot. Thanks for the great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My husband loved this recipe and my kids cleaned their bowls. We'll definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
added plain flour instead of tapioca, and dried herbs for seasoning. Wonderfully tender, lovely gravy. Good substitute for when you don't own a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mareesa Cunneen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I used cornstarch instead of tapicoa & added fresh ingrdients....Have made this twice and everyone one loves it. I added greek seasoning to flour then coated 1 3/4 lb of stew beef and browned it in olive oil then removed added to pan chopped onion & 2 garlic cloves chopped, baby carrotts, hearts of celery, fresh green beans, corn (off 2 ears), 1lb mushrooms, soften all added fresh oregano, thyme, rosemary add beef back to veggies & 2 bay leaves. Add 1 32oz minus 1/4 cup beef stock, 2 fresh tomatoes, sea salt , grd pepper stir in 3tbs cornstarch & 1/4 cup of remaining beef stock mix put lid on & place in oven @ 250 5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love this recipe because it is perfect for those days when you get a late start and can't use the crock pot. Add as much salt as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazing - everyone took seconds! I dredged the meat in flour as suggested and also used cornstarch instead of tapioca. Instead of heating up the oven, I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for about 6 1/2 hours. This was delicious and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
ok, this is a tough one. What I ended up with tasted GREAT, but I modified it so much it ended up being entirely different. I like reading the modifications others post in their reviews so here is my contribution: I also used cornstarch instead of tapioca and only a dash or two of sugar. I used low-sodium beef broth in place of water and boullion. I coated meat with flour salt and pepper mixture and pan seared first. I did not add bread at all. I also added much more salt and pepper and tomato paste in the end because it was a little on the bland side. Oh and I put in a little minced garlic-you can NEVER go wrong with garlic in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Bottom line: great recipe...but, I would omit the salt altogether because it's ungodly for my taste! Otherwise, we will definitely be enjoying this recipe for a long time...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
So good! I also coated the meet in flour & seasoning before browning it. The only problem I had with the recipe was that there wasn't enough liquid. I don't know what I did wrong, but the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States