Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I used cornstarch instead of tapicoa & added fresh ingrdients....Have made this twice and everyone one loves it. I added greek seasoning to flour then coated 1 3/4 lb of stew beef and browned it in olive oil then removed added to pan chopped onion & 2 garlic cloves chopped, baby carrotts, hearts of celery, fresh green beans, corn (off 2 ears), 1lb mushrooms, soften all added fresh oregano, thyme, rosemary add beef back to veggies & 2 bay leaves. Add 1 32oz minus 1/4 cup beef stock, 2 fresh tomatoes, sea salt , grd pepper stir in 3tbs cornstarch & 1/4 cup of remaining beef stock mix put lid on & place in oven @ 250 5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love this recipe because it is perfect for those days when you get a late start and can't use the crock pot. Add as much salt as specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Amazing - everyone took seconds! I dredged the meat in flour as suggested and also used cornstarch instead of tapioca. Instead of heating up the oven, I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for about 6 1/2 hours. This was delicious and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
ok, this is a tough one. What I ended up with tasted GREAT, but I modified it so much it ended up being entirely different. I like reading the modifications others post in their reviews so here is my contribution: I also used cornstarch instead of tapioca and only a dash or two of sugar. I used low-sodium beef broth in place of water and boullion. I coated meat with flour salt and pepper mixture and pan seared first. I did not add bread at all. I also added much more salt and pepper and tomato paste in the end because it was a little on the bland side. Oh and I put in a little minced garlic-you can NEVER go wrong with garlic in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Bottom line: great recipe...but, I would omit the salt altogether because it's ungodly for my taste! Otherwise, we will definitely be enjoying this recipe for a long time...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
So good! I also coated the meet in flour & seasoning before browning it. The only problem I had with the recipe was that there wasn't enough liquid. I don't know what I did wrong, but the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I liked this a lot. It had good flavor. I didn't add the tapioca, but the cornstarch with water mixture. I thought that this was a little sweet, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly & turned out to be a weirdly sweet tasting stew :( I don't think instant tapioca is a good blend for stew and the bread chunks ended up very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe is extremely easy to make. Once you cut up the ingedients you just put it in the oven and two hours later, beef stew! I used beef stock instead of water and corn starch instead of tapioca. I also put in some red pepper flakes to give it a kick. Really tasty, can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made this for lunch today, I got up,chopped the veggies up,only changes were that I made,it called for 4 carrots only had two and half a bag of shredded and added on the liquid! it needed way more liquid than called for but you know what? I popped it in the oven at 7:30,I left for church about 10 until 10, left my mother in charge, she had to put it in the slow cooker and it finally got done, it was a good recipe for the most part but I'm thinking I'm going back to a basic, old fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States