Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This stew is great. This was my first ever baked stew. I hesitated with this one because I always slow cooked my stews and I was afraid that the meat would not be tender. Boy was I wrong. This was one of the best stews i have made and everything was tender. I did use starch, instead of the topcia. The gravy was smooth and the flavor was great. This meal is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Both my husband and I loved this recipe! I only had 1 lb. of meat which was just right for the 2 of us so I cut recipe in half. I did add a little garlic, worchestershire and dried rosemary to the sauce and dredged and browned the meat first. oh yes, I left out the bread. I can't have it and didn't seem like soggy bread was a good fit for us. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I only gave this four stars because the stew beef, I used cubed chuck, did not come out tender as I thought it would. I think possibly I browned it too long. The next time I make this, and I will certainly make it again, I will try putting the meat in the casserole in its "raw" state. When I make my stovetop receipe, this is how I do it, and Inever have a problem with tenderness. With that said, this stew is delicious, I may have just screwed the meat up a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was wonderful. I added some extra spices like others suggested. I did use broth instead of water. The next time I make it.......I will make the cubes/cuts of meat smaller and addd more broth. Easy to make.......everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
WOW! I made this recipe because I was snowed in and thought I would try something new. I invited the two widows that live in the apartments on either side of me for dinner and both RAVED about this. They said its the best stew they ever had! -- That being said I made a few minore changes. I did flour and brown my meat in a dutch oven that I baked the stew in. I also left the bread out (I forgot) Still, this was an amazing stew. Anyone who reads this should give it a try. You wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
followed cheftastey's advice. It was awesome stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added 1 can beef boulion soup instead of water and beef boulion cube. added pearl onions, frozen peas and 1 tblsp of soy sauce. I added seasoning to the flour that I coated the beef with. Mixed altogether and baked on 325 for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyDogAnnie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this recipe as well as my husband and it is so easy to make. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Loved that it tasted fantastic without the 'browning the meat' step. I doubled the recipe with great success. Just added some dried rosemary and thyme and I'm definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I coated the beef meat in seasoned flour (cajun seasoning, garlic powder, old bay, onion powder, paprika, thyme, romemary, and a few other random seasonings). I also used cornstarch because I didn't have any tapioca as well as using beef broth instead of granules and water. we love garlic so I added garlic to the vegetables. I forgot to add the bread but still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States