Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this during a recent snowstorm. What a great warm comfort food meal. I added in some corn and peas, but other than that I made it as listed. It was really good with a loaf of crusty french bread. We had enough for leftovers and it might have been even better the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I substitute the tapioca for 3 tbsp of flour and it is great. Be sure to stir once in a while to help each piece of meat get coated. You will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This WAS easy! I checked on it after 2 hrs and it looked a little dry, so I added some red wine and cooked a little longer. MMMmmm! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
excellent! meat was very tender...although i didn't have tapioca. instead i seasoned the meat w/ salt and pepper, then rolled it in cornstarch and browned it. it won't get as thick as it would with tapicoa, but it makes a decent substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Duann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was such an easy stew to make. It was delicious!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I run a daycare in my home so I decided to make it for kids' lunch today. I only use the potatoes (tripled the amount), since not all like cooked celery and carrots. I did not have dice tomatoes so I just used a can of tomato paste. I browned the meat (put some flour on it first) in coconut oil, and baked all in pyrex glass pan with aluminum foil as a cover. After we came back from our morning walk, the kids commented on how nice the house smells! They each had a big portion and loved it, the meat was sooo tender. This recipe will become part of my daycare menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I just made this tonight. It was REALLY good and really filling. I have to say that I had over 3lbs of meat so I had to use two corningware dishes. However, I seasoned flour and browned the meat in batches before combining it with the veggies. I deglazed the brown bits with beef stock. I actually had to use a box of beef broth and two cans of diced tomatoes but I did use a lot of carrots, etc. to balance the amound of beef I used. I baked everything for almost three hours. After removing it from the oven I added the corn starch slurry and it thickened even more. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lottieclottie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This stew is great. This was my first ever baked stew. I hesitated with this one because I always slow cooked my stews and I was afraid that the meat would not be tender. Boy was I wrong. This was one of the best stews i have made and everything was tender. I did use starch, instead of the topcia. The gravy was smooth and the flavor was great. This meal is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Both my husband and I loved this recipe! I only had 1 lb. of meat which was just right for the 2 of us so I cut recipe in half. I did add a little garlic, worchestershire and dried rosemary to the sauce and dredged and browned the meat first. oh yes, I left out the bread. I can't have it and didn't seem like soggy bread was a good fit for us. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I only gave this four stars because the stew beef, I used cubed chuck, did not come out tender as I thought it would. I think possibly I browned it too long. The next time I make this, and I will certainly make it again, I will try putting the meat in the casserole in its "raw" state. When I make my stovetop receipe, this is how I do it, and Inever have a problem with tenderness. With that said, this stew is delicious, I may have just screwed the meat up a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States