Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I have made the stew several times and we love it every time! Everyone who tries it now makes it themselves. The only changes I make are that I use a good cut of beef, like boneless sirloin and I omit the bread. I use the tapioca and think it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very good and comforting. Insead of water I used beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I browner the meat in flour & seasonings and subbed cornstarch/water for tapioca but otherwise followed recipe.. Meat was so tender and moist! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Just may be the best entree recipe I've pulled off this site. We've made it several times and it never disappoints. Great for these days with snow on the ground. Bob M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Just finished making this and boy does my house smell good. This is my first time making stew from scratch and this will be my go to recipe. The only change I made was I used flour instead of tapioca and beef stock instead of water. I also added a dash of red wine. Gotta go eat now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jordan's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My niece told me about this recipe. She said it was the best beef stew she'd ever had. I made it for a party I was having and it did not disappoint! It was fantastic! I baked it in my crockpot insert, then after baking it, I kept it warm for the party by using the crockpot! I will not be making beef stew any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mormonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Baked 350 covered for about 3 hours. I also added some left over mushrooms I had on hand. As one reviewer suggested, make sure there is enough liquid. I added a little more water and beef granules to cover. Turned out delicious with a lot of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This beef stew is delicious, especially the second day after the flavors meld together. I will definitely make it again! I followed the recipe closely however I did make a few minor changes. I sauteed the beef in a small amount of olive oil with freshly minced garlic which added additional subtle flavor. Rather than use a tablespoon of beef bouillon granules, I used Better than Boullillon beef base that comes in a jar purchased from the supermarket. It has a more concentrated flavor providing a more full bodied sauce with a touch of kick to it. No celery on hand and I deliberately omitted the bread, neither of which were missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this during a recent snowstorm. What a great warm comfort food meal. I added in some corn and peas, but other than that I made it as listed. It was really good with a loaf of crusty french bread. We had enough for leftovers and it might have been even better the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States