Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I had 3 lbs of beef so adjusted the recipe accordingly and baked in a 9x13 roaster. No instant tapioca so stirred in cornstarch/water near the end, used Better than Boullion rather than granules. I don't think the sugar was necessary, I did need to add more water as the stew baked, more tomatoes would have been a good idea. I've never baked a stew before, it's great if you can't be bothered babysitting it on the stove, so thanks for this recipe Diane. I have since tried a few of my own versions, my favorite so far: sauteed the veg first, didn't brown the meat (to my surprise,I couldn't tell the difference), more tomatoes, combo of ale and water for the liquid, seasoned w/thyme, bay leaves, steak seasoning, uncovered the stew for the last half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatyTM
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I found the taste slightly sweet and the tomatoes were not much in taste evidence. I liked the stew cold next day much more than hot first day. The proportions of meat and vegetables were great. This recipe makes 8 hearty servings or 12 regular servings, esp. if served with biscuits or some other. At 375° covered, no peeking, for 2 hrs, everything is tender. My meat was cubed round roast and I used a cubed hard crust bun for my bread (recipe didn’t specify bread type). A sprinkle of Montreal steak sauce on a serving helps it somewhat. Perhaps my expectations were too high because of all the 5 star reviews. Full disclosure: used ground cherry and vine ripe tomato instead of canned (none on hand), used veg broth with "better than bouillon" instead of beef granules (again, none on hand). Any modification will change a recipe somewhat but I doubt these small mod’s would make all the difference. I won’t make again; I am usually not so exacting when making stew and I find using my dutch oven either on stove-top or in the oven easier to handle than the 9”x13” pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great stew recipe. I took the advice of the other commenters and substituted beef broth for water and bouillon cubes, and three tbs of corn starch for tapioca. I also added a tbsp of garlic. And substituted frozen peas for celery. The doused it all with red wine and sprinkled with Worchestershire sauce. But it was awesome. Tender, with a lovely favour. It is not the traditional stew my mom used to make. But it will be made over and over again in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was really good, but next time I will add a little more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was the best tasting beef stew I've ever had and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I will give this a 4 star because my stew didn't have extra liquid when finished cooking. The taste was wonderful. I will increase my can of tomato to 2 cans and double my liquid portion of this recipe and pray for more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I loved how easy this was. I suppose I could have used a slow cooker but two hours is faster. I didn't have carrots or celery so I added a can of cream of celery soup. Fantastic idea! Didn't add the sugar, bread or tapioca. It just isn't necessary. Added my own spices to taste and did take the reviewer suggestion to add one teaspoon Worcestershire sauce. Will make again and again. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Whole family loved this, even my picky ten year old; he practically inhaled it! I took several modifications from previous reviews. Left out the celery & carrots, used 4 palm sized potatoes. Browned the stew beef in a dry non-stick fry pan after tossing with flour, onion powder and garlic powder in a ziplock. Removed beef from pan and placed in a greased 9x13 baking dish as directed. Then took advice from a great review and dissolved a beef boullion cube in boiling water, added to the pan in order to loosen all of the bits from the pan and poured it over the beef. Also, tomatoes add lovely color and taste, but I think next time I will use crushed tomatoes since 1 kid "thinks" he hates them. Threw two slices of bread in there and instead of tapioca blended 3Tbs cornstarch and cold water. Covered with foil, cooked 2 hours, or actually, after 1.5 hours, I turned the oven down to 275 and cooked an extra 2.5 hours (had to let the kids enjoy the blizzard!) Came out delicious. Only problem....not enough leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Weed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
We loved this beef stew, easy to make and takes no time at all. I made it with chicken using chicken broth instead of beef. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this in my cast iron dutch oven. Followed recipe with addition of tips from other reviewers. Used cornstarch instead of tapioca, used the red wine and a pckt. of onion soup mix. I also added 2 cans of diced petite tomatoes and minced garlic. 350 for 1 hour and 325 for 2 hours. It was soooo yummmy!!! Thanks for a good basic and the review tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States