Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My grown daughter said that this is the best stew I have ever made. I liked this recipe so much I will never make stew in a crock pot or on top of the stove again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Had I not made some changes to this recipe, I would have given it five stars because the flavor is outstanding. If you are looking for the classic flavor and texture of beef stew, this is it. Instead of using tapioca I used 3T cornstarch dissolved in a cup of beef broth. I also used beef broth instead of water to kick up the flavor. I've never used the slice of bread and haven't missed it. Again--a delicious recipe--really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good and very easy. I used 1/4 c water with 3 T cornstarch in place of the tapioca and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Have to admit, I was a little skeptical of baking a stew. This was delicious! I added another can of tomatoes (drained). The tapioca did a great job of slightly thickening the stew. We loved this recipe and have made it many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I agree with other reviews. I left out the bread, and used beef broth instead of the granules and chopped garlic.. My husband still stated that it needed more seasoning (because he likes things a little on the spicy side) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Delicious and easy! There was a lot of flavour in this dish. I definitely would make it again, however I would change one thing. I didn't like the chunks of bread in it. They got really soggy and my guests were asking "What's that slimy stuff" haha. Other than that, it's a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My whole family loved this stew. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliachildren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is what beef stew should taste like....wholesome, satisfying, and full of flavor. Only thing I added were 3 minced garlic cloves, substituted beef granules with a can of beef broth with a can of water, and added a couple Tbsps of tomatoe paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYWAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
this was very simple and had good flavors.What was nice is that you put it in the oven so you didnt have to mess with it. Although i did add more broth from the very start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was the greatest stew I have ever made==thanks to the recipe! We loved it at our house. It tasted so different baked in the oven and I never would have thought of it. I also tweaked it a bit: added 1 medium onion chopped, 6 oz of Portabella mushrooms, frozen string beans. I left out the tapioca, but found a McCormick Beef Stew packet and added that with more water. It was so good. My son came over and he helped my husband and I finish the entire thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States