Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
followed recipe to a T. pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is fabulous! I used 2 cans of beef broth and 4 T. cornstarch instead of water, beef granules, and tapioca. I also decreased the salt to 1 tsp. and omitted the bread. The flavor was wonderful! My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mommyisblessed
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would give this 10 stars if possible. This was good for a basic stew. Baked was something absolutely new to me. First off, when I make it again, and I will be making it again, I think I may leave out the cornstarch/water that I used instead of tapioca and add an extra can of Beef broth (used in place of beef granules) My fiance and I thought it was a bit too thick. I placed flour, salt, pepper, garlic salt, and tony's seasoning in a ziplock bag and shook it up with the meat before browing. The flour on the meat with do enough as far as thicking it out. Also I didnt use any celery (didnt have any) and added mushrooms and green beans. followed cooking directions to a T. Overall was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyisblessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The best beef stew! I always had trouble with getting my stew to the right consistency. It usually was too watery! This was perfect! I coated my beef with flour then browned it on the stove. I then added a can of beef broth to the pot and scraped up all the drippings. I poured this into an oven bag and skipped the water, didn't add the sugar or the granules. I did add the bread and it came out perfect! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have tapioca or cornstarch on hand, so I used a flour paste instead. I also kept the bread out, and added other vegetables - green bell pepper, whole mushrooms (quartered). It was absolutely delicious! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My grown daughter said that this is the best stew I have ever made. I liked this recipe so much I will never make stew in a crock pot or on top of the stove again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Had I not made some changes to this recipe, I would have given it five stars because the flavor is outstanding. If you are looking for the classic flavor and texture of beef stew, this is it. Instead of using tapioca I used 3T cornstarch dissolved in a cup of beef broth. I also used beef broth instead of water to kick up the flavor. I've never used the slice of bread and haven't missed it. Again--a delicious recipe--really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good and very easy. I used 1/4 c water with 3 T cornstarch in place of the tapioca and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Have to admit, I was a little skeptical of baking a stew. This was delicious! I added another can of tomatoes (drained). The tapioca did a great job of slightly thickening the stew. We loved this recipe and have made it many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I agree with other reviews. I left out the bread, and used beef broth instead of the granules and chopped garlic.. My husband still stated that it needed more seasoning (because he likes things a little on the spicy side) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States