Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe except for the bread. I would omit it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved this so much, and I don't even like beef stew! The bread was a little soggy in it, but I can see why it was added to be like French Onion soup. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tried this last night and LOVED IT! I made a couple of changes: left out the potatoes because I wanted to try the tapioca - enough starch - but liked what the tapioca did for the recipe. Also left out the sugar and added 3 cloves of chopped fresh garlic. Baked it in my cast iron dutch oven with the lid on and it was yummy! Suzie, Oneonta, AL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oneonta, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Was good and I would make it again just needs a few more seasoning added and instead of tapioca I coated my meat in flour before browning and my stew thickened just fine that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this many times with great results. I leave out the bread slices though. I also season my meat with pepper, garlic powder and salt when browning. Then I add a li'l more garlic and seasonings like thyme to the batch before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very delicious and easy to prepare. I thought this was a little too salty, but that could just be from the bouillon too. If I make this again I will cut the amount of salt. Other than that very delicious, and I served with freshly baked rolls. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I had 3 lbs of beef so adjusted the recipe accordingly and baked in a 9x13 roaster. No instant tapioca so stirred in cornstarch/water near the end, used Better than Boullion rather than granules. I don't think the sugar was necessary, I did need to add more water as the stew baked, more tomatoes would have been a good idea. I've never baked a stew before, it's great if you can't be bothered babysitting it on the stove, so thanks for this recipe Diane. I have since tried a few of my own versions, my favorite so far: sauteed the veg first, didn't brown the meat (to my surprise,I couldn't tell the difference), more tomatoes, combo of ale and water for the liquid, seasoned w/thyme, bay leaves, steak seasoning, uncovered the stew for the last half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatyTM
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I found the taste slightly sweet and the tomatoes were not much in taste evidence. I liked the stew cold next day much more than hot first day. The proportions of meat and vegetables were great. This recipe makes 8 hearty servings or 12 regular servings, esp. if served with biscuits or some other. At 375° covered, no peeking, for 2 hrs, everything is tender. My meat was cubed round roast and I used a cubed hard crust bun for my bread (recipe didn’t specify bread type). A sprinkle of Montreal steak sauce on a serving helps it somewhat. Perhaps my expectations were too high because of all the 5 star reviews. Full disclosure: used ground cherry and vine ripe tomato instead of canned (none on hand), used veg broth with "better than bouillon" instead of beef granules (again, none on hand). Any modification will change a recipe somewhat but I doubt these small mod’s would make all the difference. I won’t make again; I am usually not so exacting when making stew and I find using my dutch oven either on stove-top or in the oven easier to handle than the 9”x13” pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great stew recipe. I took the advice of the other commenters and substituted beef broth for water and bouillon cubes, and three tbs of corn starch for tapioca. I also added a tbsp of garlic. And substituted frozen peas for celery. The doused it all with red wine and sprinkled with Worchestershire sauce. But it was awesome. Tender, with a lovely favour. It is not the traditional stew my mom used to make. But it will be made over and over again in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was really good, but next time I will add a little more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States