Baked Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
OUTSTANDING!! I'm another of the "leave out the bread" and "cornstarch instead of tapioca group". Made another couple of substitutions only because of what was on hand. Used a can of tomato sauce instead of diced and was out of celery so I used 3 teaspoons of Natures Seasons instead of the celery, salt and pepper. It has salt, pepper, celery powder (as well as onion and garlic) included. I microwave auto-defrosted a 2 lb pkg of frozen stew beef in 19 minutes while putting the rest together. A few pieces of beef were still a little frosty but this is clearly a very forgiving recipe. The one thing I spent a little extra time on was making sure the beef and potatoes were in smallish, bite-sized pieces probably 3/4 inch max. Had a bag of peeled baby carrots so they worked wonderfully. Cooked exactly 2 hours. This was so quick and so much easier than having to watch it on the stove. This now our family's beef stew recipe. Thanks Doris and daughter for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Three stars for flavor but 5 stars because it is so easy to make. I added pearl onions, a bit of red wine and a bay Kraft....but a quick easy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
My grandmother made this but just didn't have the potatoes an bread. I always loved it. She served it over mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was excellent. I baked it, but then I froze it into freezer bags when it cooled, and then reheated in the crock pot for a few hours. It was absolulty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Delicious. Cuz we love it so much, browned the meat and roasted the cubed potatoes first. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I added homemade noodles to it. Added that special touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperCooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Battle Creek, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wasn't bad but not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is SO good! I'd never have thought of making it in the oven, and it really does add a nice flavor to it. I changed just a couple things: used 2 cans diced, stewed tomatoes, corn starch rather than tapioca, omitted sugar and bread, didn't measure pepper just used a generous amount of fresh cracked. I used beef broth instead of water and added about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning and an extra dash of rosemary, as well as a couple shakes of garlic powder. Also added 2T Worchestershire and I HIGHLY recommend that step as it adds a really nice flavor. Increased the potatoes and carrots to make it go a little further. I cooked it at 350 for about two hours, then increased to 375 for an add'l 45 minutes. When the meat was tender, removed from the oven and let sit for awhile before serving. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was so awesome finally a stew without peas my husband loved it. Will make again soon. Looked up the recipe on line at 2 oclock and was on the table at 6:00.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gonvick, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I gave it a 4 out of 5 because i didnt go by the recipe entirely. I used flour instead of tapioca and all i had was a 28oz can of tomatoes, which worked because im a fan. And omitted the bread. Definitely something i would make again and most likely continue to experiment with. It truly made my house smell so cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hot sauce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States